Day 27 in England - And I already have my first trip under my belt


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Canary Wharf
September 1st 2009
Published: September 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

BUNAC organized a trip to Amsterdam
So I seized the moment, and this past bank holiday weekend, I added two new countries to my list of visited countries: The Netherlands & Belgium

We had to meet at the International Student House @ 6:00am on Saturday morning. I live about 20 minutes by tube away. So, what's the next option - get on the FIRST tube of the day from Canary Wharf tube station - which was @ 5:25am. I woke up at 4am, to get ready and out of the flat by 5am. Walk to the tube with time to spare, OTHERWISE, I will miss it.

Luckily the area I live in, is a SAFE area -- so there are NO problems walking out and about at 5am on a Saturday morning - trust me. There are some areas in London, where I wouldn't walk around alone @ 3pm in the afternoon. The Canary Wharf area is far from that. I have some pictures of the tube station, which naturally would be EMPTY on a Saturday morning. Usually this tube station is BUSY. Canary Wharf is home to the offices like Morgan Stanley, Financial Services Authority, Reuters - so the usual week day hustle and bustle was missing today.

Anyway, I just wanted to give a bit of a background as to WHY I look the way I do in my picture. Haha. 4am wake up call makes everyone look like THAT.

-=-

We found our way to Dover, England (home of the famous White cliffs of Dover), where we took the Sea France (a huge ferry, the kind where you can fit MANY tour buses) across the English Channel to Calais, France, where we continued the bus ride to Amsterdam.

Im not sure how many hours the ride was, it didnt seem that long; maybe I'm just used to roadtrips (due to all the roadtrips to New Jersey over the years).

Sites Visited on this trip:
- Anne Frank House
- Heineken Museum
- Clog and Cheese Factory
- Heritage Centre (where we saw old school Windmills)
- We also went on a Canal tour, there are various canals in Amsterdam that connect the city. Because of this there are LOTS and LOTS and LOTS of boats, and house boats.

We also walked around the Red Light District, one of the other things which Amsterdam is famous for.

NB. In all reality, while this saddened me, I had to remind myself that this is complete legal in Amsterdam.

We met some cool people on the trip, mostly Aussies and other fellow Canadians. Bleh. =P jk.

On to the Amsterdam photos; Brugge, Belgium photos coming soon.





Additional photos below
Photos: 94, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb