Christmas in England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Gloucestershire
January 3rd 2007
Published: January 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Wyvern the Dragon and Monk BearWyvern the Dragon and Monk BearWyvern the Dragon and Monk Bear

The Welsh Symbol and a souvinier from The Gloucester Cathedral
On my night of arrival Sam took me to a local pub for the pub quiz night. Pub quizzes are really big in the UK. The questions are also much more difficult than you would think for testing a bunch of inebriated people. I was lucky to arrive at all with many parts of Britain under a fog alert.

Gloucester is probably a typical smaller English town. It does stand out with its enormous cathedral and small canal running through the centre. The weather was mild and mostly sunny (or foggy); a nice break from the torrential rain and winds in Glasgow. As always, it is the people that make the place and I was never lacking in invitations for parties, dinners, and pub nights. I probably spent more than a healthy amount of time drinking. I also have never spent so much time in churches- either taking part in the service or taking pictures.

On my third day in Gloucester I was nearly stranded in the middle of the English countryside. After Will’s little Peugeot more or less slid all the way down a mud trench disguised as a road, we thought it was completely hopeless. With no
Pub QuizPub QuizPub Quiz

My first night in England. You can see how thick the fog was.
signal on the cell phone, no help for an hours walk away, the sky getting darker, and the rain getting heavier, we started resorting to desperate measures. Trying to fill the deep tracks made by the car was impossible. After the decision was made to try to go up the steep muddy, grassy field Will started reversing his car into position when we noticed a car in the driveway of the “celebrity recluse house”. The honey-mooning couple had just come back from grocery shopping. They made us tea and called the owner of the property. We were eventually dragged out of the trench by a grumpy farmer with his pick-up truck. In post trauma discussion I told Will we would have had to break into the house to keep warm if worse came to worse. It was also a good thing we didn’t try to go up the grassy field. Even if we made it across the rain soaked field it would have been hard to get across the barbed wire fence. Talk about being lucky!

The rest of my time in Gloucester was much less distressing. Highlights of the trip include a day trip to a Welsh castle, New Years Eve in Oxford, and jacuzzi baths in a decked out washroom at Sam’s. Built in radio, heated towel rack, deep jacuzzi bath tub- need I say more?

I also went to my first rugby game. I had no idea that so many people would pay over $40 to stand outside in the rain to watch this game; forget retractable roofs, heating and plush seats. It’s thousands of people standing for over 2 hours in the open air freezing their socks off chanting “Gloooooo-ster”. One thing I’ve learned since living in the UK is their passion for their sports.


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

area where Harry Potter was filmedarea where Harry Potter was filmed
area where Harry Potter was filmed

There was a young man wearing very Harry Potter-esque clothes sweeping the floor.
cool picture!cool picture!
cool picture!

I copied this artistic style of taking a picture from someone. Can't remember who.
Clearwell CavesClearwell Caves
Clearwell Caves

This is an old mining site. it goes down very deep and if you can get a group of 8 people together, you can go deep caving. They decorated the whole upper cave with Christmas scenes.
heading towards disasterheading towards disaster
heading towards disaster

I took this picture before we hit the trenchy area.
recluse house in the distancerecluse house in the distance
recluse house in the distance

still before disaster struck. We were having a fun conversation guessing what celebrity might stay there.
Will and SamWill and Sam
Will and Sam

I had breakfast twice at this traditional English breakfast cafe. SO DELICIOUIS!!
Pre-Christmas dinner partyPre-Christmas dinner party
Pre-Christmas dinner party

I think the wine is extra strong around here.
Will after a few too manyWill after a few too many
Will after a few too many

I asked him to start putting his bum into the England chair and this is what he does!
Will passed outWill passed out
Will passed out

Me and Sam decided to play a prank on him.


11th January 2007

Oh my god
Well, ladies and gentlemen... what can I say? My darling boyfriend just LOVES the camera!!! It was a pleasure to host you Hansee... I hope it wasn't all too weird for you. Looking forward to that Glasgow visit. xx
13th January 2007

Kitchen Nazi Strikes Back
Thank you for your culinary skills - Mark I think we got away with our 'affair'. Ha ha ha!! - Will Hope the rat finds a happy cage - Mark There's a Cranium challenge. Hands up anyone who wants to take it - Will & Mark The Oxford Gays say "hi" - Will I'm glad you and Sam finally got some time together - Will When are you coming back to see us? - Will & Mark I'm still trying to find a shovel for £5 - Will Mark wouldn't kick you out of bed for eating crackers - Will My eye still hurts after the shaving foam - Will Sam and I are kissing right now, hope you don't vomit - Will Secret naughty comments - Mark Am I off your shit list yet? - Mark I've never seen anyone gets so pissed so quickly after red wine and pizza - Will
13th January 2007

Kitchen Nazi Strikes Again
Awwww.... I miss you guys. Will, thanks for broadcasting our affair to everyone! Mark, you aren't on my shit list anymore but i think you would kick me out of bed for eating crackers. Will, check out the Argos catalogue for a shovel. Will, the kissing comment did just hit the gag reflex. I still think the wine is extra strong. My next long break will be in april. you guys are welcome to come and visit. We have a spacious living room for you to sleep in.
22nd January 2007

April
careful with April inivites, that's my birthday month it could get really messy and I don't just mean the shaving foam. Take care of yourself, see you soon.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb