Life on Hold


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
December 13th 2006
Published: December 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It feels like a lifetime since I’ve been able to do this blog again. Unfortunately, school has sort of sucked me dry of any creativity and wit. I’ve never felt so drained in my life. Doing this course is like being in some alternate world similar to the book “1984”. I’ve been broken in room 101 and now they are slowly building me up to be one of them. Well, maybe they haven’t broken me yet. I’ll just have to pretend like I’m playing some sort of game to get through the next 6 months. For any people out there thinking of doing teacher training at Jordanhill, just know that you will be dealing with the devil and his minions.

Now that I’ve gotten that unpleasant bit out of the way, I’m finally on my winter vacation and maybe will be able to salvage some sort of life back. Over the past 6 weeks we haven’t done much more than planning and writing lesson plans. I got to the point where I was dreaming about the lessons and waking up in the middle of the night thinking I forgot to make ready some important resource. My daily routine became going to school, trying to keep up with the kids, coming home heating up some left over and preparing for the next day, take a shower, go to bed. I pulled one all nighter, which wasn’t fun. I’m pretty sure I can’t do this for the rest of my life. Just thinking about the next six months triggers the helpless/panic button.

On the brighter side, I do like the children and developed a good relationship with them. I received cards and gifts from them on my last day. One girl came up to me to tell me she forgot my card at home and wanted to get my address to send it to my house. How sweet is that? Well I received the card today in the mail and it says inside “To Miss Kha. Miss you lots.” I guess this is the job of teaching: it is all consuming but the rewards are one of a kind.

Jeanette just butt in and typed this:
“Well, I think Jeanette is the bomb digitty and I’m going to miss her sooooooooooooo much when she goes home today for Christmas. She has been my life source, constantly reminding me that there is someone always worse off than me with her continuous social dysfunction, ever present singing and just pure filth that she spraffs.”

She’s on the bus home for Christmas now. Just me and chilli guy left. 😞





Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

My BirthdayMy Birthday
My Birthday

looking pretty rough!
Team 3 Christmas PartyTeam 3 Christmas Party
Team 3 Christmas Party

My urban family
Jeanette ObviousJeanette Obvious
Jeanette Obvious

Jeanette's alter-ego
AngelsAngels
Angels

Both the Rudolph and the Angels are courtesy of Ryan (Chilli Guy)


14th December 2006

Great to see another post!
Hansee, great to see another post...been wondering about how you were doing. Sounds like a tough schedule, but it sounds like you doing well...hang in there!
14th December 2006

Hey Andrew
Glad you're reading the blog. email me to let me know how you're doing
17th December 2006

Alrighty!
Hey hanseeeeee miss you! Great to see youve spent your time productively and im really upset that youve put atrocious photos of me up i specifically asked not to have the "obvious" one up it looks so dodgy! ya bitch! have fun down south x
18th December 2006

To Craig
The "obvious" picture is the best one! You look better than the one where I look like I haven't slept for a month.
21st December 2006

happy holidays!
i haven't eaten sushi in over a week now cuz i'm back at home for the holidays....but i'll be back to vancouver on boxing day and will eat lots of sushi for you and me : ) big hugs to you...and have yourself a fab new year's eve!!! love you. love me.
24th December 2006

Happy Holidays Lora
The local supermarket has now started selling sushi but its really westernized. Like smoked salmon and creamcheese rolls or something. It's better than nothing though! I'm in England right now and spending Christmas with a friend I taught with in china. It's been really great. Miss you!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb