Final hours in London!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Essex » Stansted Airport
February 1st 2008
Published: February 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone! Im sitting here with Bryan at Stansted, which is actually a very nice airport! Doesnt look like much at first, but you come up to the level with all the gates and its cozy, with restaurants and music and stuff. Definetely not PHL, or LHR for that matter. It is big, but not comparable to LHR. Above us in the dining seating area, there are digital screens with our flight info on it telling us when go to the gate and such.. very cool, no worries. Even though our gate is a foot away anyway.

Despite the surroundings, I think Bryan and I (one of us more than the other... can you guess who?) are a little cranky and tired, not wanting to do this all over again. We not only paid 85 pounds for a one hour taxi ride to Stansted from Princes Square, but once we got to check in we discovered, that unlike LHR and PHL the weight allowance isnt 25 kilos, or 20 for that matter- 15 kilos. My bag was 21, Bryan's 23 kilos. (On a side note, I am still unsure of how his suitcase is heavier than mine... We paid, between us, 180 pounds... We are both SERIOUSLY considering shipping luggage home in July... this is rediculous, and soo much hassle. I know, I know mom.... shouldve gone right to Hamburg. I dont regret coming here first, despite the hassle and paying out the... yanno. We are both very anxious to get to Hamburg and be settled.. actually anxious is putting it lightly. This morning I woke up and this wave of homesickness hit me like a ton of bricks. The entire morning I just wanted to cry (but didnt, go me : ) ) and just wanted to be able to have a DD coffee and actually was willling to play lets make a deal- if I can go home right now I'd work 3 24-hour shifts in a row at Rite Aid. Luckily, this has passed and I am not as desperate. I am determined not to let those feelings get the best of me.. but I'm still at war with them. I just want to shop. Some people are stress eaters... im a stress shopper. Ugh. Well my paid session (yea.. no free wifi) is about to expire but I will hopefully be able to get online tonight and update you on Hamburg!

Love, J

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb