Hippies and pints


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Wadhurst
September 10th 2010
Published: September 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have to admit, the English side is a lovely and dream evolving as any one can possibly imagine.

Hannah (whom I had met in Cambodia the prior year) had offered to put up with me for my first few nights.
The crisp mornings and green rolling country side was enough to make any one feel they were living a real life sense and sensibility.

Minus Mr. Darcy, there was Ali, who proceeded to out do herself with home cooked meals every night. And if anyone knows me, I am a sucker for a good cook. I was spoilt; I had my own room in a beautiful (massive) house and meals.

Oh… did I mention pints?

Hannah showed me pub, after pub after pub. The “English” pubs in Australia do no justice. These small and often cramped dwellings were mostly 100 years old, roofs so low you were required to duck under all passageways and the oh-so familiar smell of yesterday’s party.

I was lucky enough to catch the last night of Jazz on the Pantiles, held every Thursday during summer. It was exceptional. The weather warm, the music load, the beer…. Tepid. I learned quickly that the Brits enjoy their bitter warm; I have sensibly dedicated myself to drinking only the lager from this point onward.

I stayed the night in what can only be described as a medieval castle. The house was 3 stories high, had an uncountable number or bedrooms, formal and informal dining and sitting rooms. There was a guest house, pool house, gardener ect… The property was amazing, cattle, orchids, ponds, streams. My personal favourite: the cellar, which we promptly helped ourselves to.

The rainbow family was my next country adventure. Hippies camping on national parkland for a month, all were welcome. I was intrigued, and also a little excited about the prospect of dabbling in mind expanding hallucinogenic. Alas, these hippies are where the “tree hugging” term originated from. This was an alcohol/deodorant/leather and soap free event, complete with group singing, hand holding, story telling and Mecca-style praying before eating. I will not be returning.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb