Crack sweat is never nice


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Kuala Lumpur
September 7th 2010
Published: September 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My farewell went smoothly, my mother holding back her tears as best she could, my sister giving me those little sounds that only I can decipher, and Jonny trying his best not to look me in the eye as I watched him pull from the curb.

To be honest, I was expecting more….. noise? embarrassment? drama?
But as I boarded the plane (after an hour delay) and did my best to relax in Air Asia’s luxury seating I finally begin to realise I was leaving.
Leaving my excellent job, family, boyfriend and, friends; to head half way across the world to where I had none of the previously mentioned.
Ah, but the excitement of it all!

I had a stop over in KL, where the air is thick with grime and sweat, and my skin struggled to breath beneath my jeans, and I quickly had the tell tale sign of perspiration darkening the back of my shirt. I met a suspiciously energetic English woman in the bathroom who was kind enough to share her face wash with me. She had hair as bright as her personality and a quick and un-bashful humour. I liked her immediately.

After a short 8 hour break I was back on the plane, we managed to convince a passenger of a seat swap so we could sit next to one another, not that this was of any benefit as my new found friend was passed out before the remaining passengers had taken their seat. I had a momentary lapse when a tear threatened to jump over board when I spied a couple sleeping hand in hand. Bastards.

15 hours in the sky, 6 inconsistent dozes, 1.5 books later and an accidental viewing of a nude shot on someone’s camera, I had arrived.

It was 10pm UK time and 7am EST. I was stuffed.

After many silent thank-you’s to Lou, I was snuggled into the bed which she had paid for. A room in the airport hotel after a 32 hour journey can not be valued… especially one with 38 TV channels, which I watched until 3am, and then again at 6am when I woke. I love jetlag.




Advertisement



16th September 2010

Just the way I would expect a trip of yours to go… ;) Glad to hear you got there in one piece. I'll be watching. X
18th September 2010

as always you writing material always engrosses me with laughter tears and a little envy as I cold only wish to have your ability to write love mum

Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0762s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb