Brighton


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Brighton
June 8th 2014
Published: June 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Thursday 5th June

Living here I am getting used to the ever changing weather. Having to wear multiple layers each day to strip off and add more as the day weather continues in its indecisive behaviour. I woke this morning to the most beautiful day. Actually I woke up at 4:30am which is not very pleasant, but the sun comes up at that time! Here we have approximately 16.5hrs of sunlight a day (normally 4:30am-9:30pm). A contrast from Canberra's winter 9.5hrs! It does make it easier to wake early. I seem to wake at 6am feeling alert and energised which is not a feeling I have ever felt in Australia at 6am! Waking up to a lovely summer English day I set out on the bus to Brighton. The ride took 1.5hrs along tiny little roads surrounded by forest and the most gorgeous houses. The nicest area I past was Lindfield where the houses were covered in ivy and roses with a beautiful gardens and a very old village pub.

In Brighton I walked to the seaside Pier. A beautiful pier built in 1899. It is a building that instantly brings out your inner child and sense of adventure. I walked into the children's gaming area, hit up the change machine swapping a couple of pounds for a cup worth of 2p's to gamble away. I had a blast loosing my money and walking away with no prize. I honestly didn't think I would have so much fun on my own!

After the Pier I visited the Lanes. The old lanes are squished so close together that it is like motivating around a little maze. Filled with jewellery, antique, vintage clothing, restaurants, pubs, nicknacks and lolly (sweet) shops I managed to walk around happily for hours. I visited the sweetest lollie shop to try a few soft lollies that I had never seen before, one was shaped like a fried egg and I bought a nice box of violet creams. The North Lane is outside of the old and is home to expensive designer stores and big name brands. Here I managed to buy an appropriate rain coat, which was to prove handy in the Brighton sea wind.

With all the walking I decided to sit down somewhere for a drink, something to eat and to read my book. I came across The Mock Turtle, a quaint
Mock Turtle Mock Turtle Mock Turtle

Enjoyed a Cream Tea (devonshire tea - Pot of tea and a scone with Jam & clotted cream)
tea house tucked away in the entrance to the lanes. Here I had a cream tea or as we say, a devonshire tea. A pot of tea and a scone with jam and clotted cream. I don't normally like cream for its texture, but clotted cream is something else! Thicker, richer and with a different consistency similar to cream cheese but less hard. DELICIOUS!

To end my day in Brighton I took a ride on the ferris wheel to get the best high view of the area. It was beautiful up there, to look right over the pier and spot my next place to visit; the Pavilion. Sadly I got here too late and the inside was closed for viewing. Luckily the day was so nice that people were outside on the lush lawns soaking up the sun. For some time I hung out with the Japanese tourists to take photos of squirrels in the garden. My Aunt keeps telling me that the creatures are mean and aggressive (the squirrels not the Japanese) but I can't help liking them, their cute little bushy tails.

It started to get late and the weather was changing for the worst so I hoped back on a bus home. On the bus I started thinking about my day. It really was a lovely day and I enjoyed myself but it wasn't a great day... I had to question why? Being alone and seeing so many beautiful sights made me want to show them off to someone and have someone discuss them with. I walked past a Whiskey shop and instantly thought of McGee, a baking store that Maddy would love, Mum and Dad would have been so happy to potter around having a sticky beak and I know my brother would have fun gambling with me at the Pier. It's going to take some time for me to enjoy visiting amazing places alone. Perhaps you can only ever have a good time on your own, not a great time. I hope that's not the case. But if it is, i'd like to think that by writing this blog I am getting to share these places with the people I love and then i'm not really alone am I?


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Brighton Pavilion Brighton Pavilion
Brighton Pavilion

Everyone was out side enjoying the beautiful sunny day


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb