Test blog - world map & preparing for Morocco!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Dorset » Wimborne Minster
October 10th 2012
Published: October 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hey

Just doing a test run of the blog to learn how it works & post a little about my preparations for going to Morocco - not long now!

So you might ask why Morocco? - Well a fellow windsurfer reccommended it for being super cheap & ideal for learning to wave ride. I'd considered (yet I still might do it) the idea of doing a ski season, but having been indicisive about exactly how I would do it (plus I already know how to windsurf, but can't snowboard) I looked up flights & found a one way ticket for £30! (Ryanair). Now I've always known that Ryanair are buggers for extra charges so I added everything up (inc price to take my kit) & it came to under £100 - still pretty cheap! I didn't actually have my kit at that point though so just guessed the weight: got to be under 20 kg. Ryanairs policy states for £50 you can take up to 20 kg windsurfer. Kit turns up, its awesome but a friend points out that theres no way its under 20 kg, try 30 kg! Oh dear, so now I have to buy a second bag, split my kit between both and also pay to take the extra bag, not so cheap now 😞 Oh well I'm still going & lesson learned! Plus I will have room to bring stuf back this way.Pretty glad I booked one-way, I can see how it goes out there & choose a better airline on the way back!

I arrive in Marrakech and am getting a bus to Essaouira (city at the beach), where I will stay in a hostel, find my feet, and get started with the windsurfing. From there who knows, been told that following the atlantic coast south is a good shout as its warmer & cheaper. Really like the idea of camping on the beach & hiking in the Atlas mountains... Adventure guaranteed!

Advertisement



6th November 2012

I went to Morocco in my twenties. It is very cheap. Drank lots of mint tea and little else since it is difficult to drink alcohol outside the hotels although things may have changed?? Have an amazing time Steve. Sorry we missed your farewell party. Anthony completely forgot to tell me otherwise would have been there to wave you off with a drink. xxx
8th November 2012

What we'd like to hear about...
Warmth. And sunshine - to cheer us up! Lots of pics, please. And tell us about the local culture, and transport, and whether it's as inexpensive as you'd hoped, and your fellow travellers, and if sleeping on the verandah is really practical, and - well, everything, really!

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb