Scotland and London 2023


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Dorset » Lyme Regis
April 11th 2023
Published: April 11th 2023
Edit Blog Post

This morning we had our usual hotel breakfast and then headed back upstairs to our room for packing up and checking out. Flavio was so gracious to allow us to leave our big suitcases there while we make this side trip to what is known as the Jurassic Coast of England. So we won’t have to drag two suitcases and a bag with us!

So the challenge is packing everything you brought with everything you bought and not exceed 50 lbs. this time I packed an extra duffel bag Marsha bought us on me if our other trips. When we get to the airport hotel, I may have to transfer some stuff over and check two bags!! I dragged my big bag downstairs….did I fail to mention there were 70 steps up to our room? It was good for me to work off all I’d eaten on this trip

We met Corey and Jennifer in the lobby. They were going on the hop on hop off tour bus around the city for their last day. They fly back home tomorrow. Their friend, Ace, flew out today. Chrissy and I have two days in the coast and we fly home Friday. We were headed to Waterloo Station to take a train to Axminster and then a taxi to Lyme Regis.

If you travel, you have to be able to fly by the seat of your pants….sometimes! This morning, while waiting at Waterloo (London’s largest Train station) Chrissy heard an announcement that our train was cancelled. We went to the ticketing booth and found out something was blocking the tracks. We had to get on a train on track 9, ride for 2 stops, get off and board a train that would take us to Axminster (our original destination). This is the part of the trip Chrissy was especially looking forward to. A lot of people would just give up, it can be overwhelming! But Within an hour and a half we were on the right train and scheduled to arrive at the right time to meet our taxi!! God is good! I take him with me where ever I go!!

This train ride was much different than the others. We were traveling first class, which on the other trains meant drinks, snacks, and a meal. Not this train. First class meant we got to sit in a little bit larger seats with less people!!!

Once we got to Axminster, we thought we had a half hour wait in our prearranged taxi. Nobody showed up. We tried calling and just got the answering machine. We finally started calling all the taxi companies listed on the wall of the station and got some one who was dropping off a guest and could take us to our hotel. By this time the wind was kicking up and it was really raining!

It was about a 15 minute ride to the hotel. I paid the guy, then I opened the door to get out. A £50 note blew out of my hand and down the street. I chased it…down the street, around a corner, in a store front, back out on the street…..finally I got ahead of it and stomped my foot on it. I’m sure it was a site to behold!!!

Our hotel was right in the beach. It is a small historic inn called The Rock Point Inn. We had the room on the top floor because it has windows facing the sea and stools to sit and watch the comings and goings. It’s been recently updated and was a huge room with a huge bathroom. It’s the first time I’ve stayed in a hotel that gave me pillow spray!!!!

We had quite a storm…wind howling and rain pounding. I got some great pictures. I put a video up on my Facebook.

We decided to eat here at the Pub downstairs. I can Honestly say I got the biggest piece of fish…EVER!!! It was so good. Their fries (chips) here are out of this world. We were too full for dessert but since our room was just upstairs we could get some later, which we did! Chrissy had sticky toffee pudding and I had a brownie sundae. The ice cream was quite good!!

So it is late and we’re hoping for better weather, at least part of the day, so we can fossil hunt on the beach. It looks like this is a very interesting place…hope we get to enjoy it!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb