Back Home


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon » Plymouth
April 9th 2007
Published: April 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Porthcurno BeachPorthcurno BeachPorthcurno Beach

This picture was taken from Porthcurno Beach, our favourite in Cornwall as hardly anyone goes there. Highly recommended. In the background you can see St. Michael's Mount. If you can remember back in October I went there back in October and there's a closer picture of it in a previous entry.
Hi Everyone,

Well I've been back in Plymouth now for about a week. It's so nice to be home and to have time to relax before I get back into work again. It's nice not getting the underground as well, and really nice to be back in Devon and being able to go to Cornwall and Dartmoor whenever I want to. We've been to Cornwall a couple of times since I've been back, and went to Dartmoor National Park yesterday. It was really nice there. I picked up a book on walks in Dartmoor and we found one of the stone circles we were looking for, but the second one (it's two stone circles off each other) was a little more difficult. The directions were very difficult to decipher when your landmark to head for is two old stone posts, to which there are many in ruined farms, so finding the direction was a little hard. It was only 300 yards but in which direction made it more difficult. I've included some pictures anyway of our trips out. I picked up a new camera as I've been finding that although my little point and shoot camera takes great pictures
Porthcurno BeachPorthcurno BeachPorthcurno Beach

I'm trying out my new camera and the pictures are much better with more clarity and I'm practicing freezing the shots.
of people and close up places, taking landscape shots os more difficult. So I got an SLR camera and the difference is amazing. Im having fun getting used to it, and with Trevor's help, i should master it soon hopefully.

We're off to North Cornwall to see Tintagel, the supposed birthplace of King Arthur. I found a site that talks a bit about it if you're interested at www.uidaho.edu/studnet_orgs/arthurian_legend and tries to find out what truth there is in the legend. I'm very sceptical about the tales and also about this site, but it does provide some interesting information. It's hard to find the truth at these sites where tourism is at stake. The stone circle we saw yesterday was met with some scepticism by myself yesterday as the stones used were much smaller than other stone circles we've seen - as they're usually upright. There was someone in the circle holding two pieces of metal looking for leylines and talking about the stone circles in the area. Very amusing.

I hope you're all well and having fun. Let me know what you've been up to. I also hope you enjoyed your Easter.

Love Danielle.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

DartmoorDartmoor
Dartmoor

Excuse us posing but they are nice pictures.
Chysauster Ancient VillageChysauster Ancient Village
Chysauster Ancient Village

This is very similar to Carn-Euni village that is in a previous entry. In this one though the fugue has collapsed (whereas Carn-Euni's is completely intact and you can walk into the dome) although the village at Chysauster is has stayed in better condition than the one at Carn-Euni. See both if you ever get to come here.


9th April 2007

Nice pics - do you have a flickr account?
9th April 2007

Photo's are great Danielle, keep posting them. Miss you heaps, Mum xxxxx
24th September 2011
Porthcurno Beach

Porthcurno Beach
This is a wonderful photo of a beautiful place. I would love to visit Porthcurno Beach some day!

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb