A Search for Mr. Darcy: Chatsworth House


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Derbyshire » Chesterfield
September 4th 2009
Published: December 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

To Chatsworth...And there Abouts


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Chatsworth 26 secs
Crooked Spire Crooked Spire Crooked Spire

the St. Mary and All Saints church in Chesterfield
Since coming to England I have wanted to see the location where the movie Pride and Prejudice was filmed and it is located in the Peak district which I have also wanted to see. It wasn’t until my last week in England that I had a chance to plan a trip up to Chatsworth house to see it. The reason it took so long for me to go is that it kind of takes a bit of work to get there. First I took a train to Chesterfield. Once in Chesterfield I had to find further transportation to Chatsworth. The bus I needed to take to the next town over didn’t leave for about an hour so I walked around the town and saw the flea market set up in the middle square. People were selling everything from books to kitchenware. It was kind of neat to see that a town still regularly holds markets like that. I found out that the markets differ varying on the day; some days have the farmer’s markets, some days have craft markets, and other days have the flea market. I also saw the twisted spire of the local cathedral. It is pretty cool because what is supposed to be normal straight point is now twisted. The spire twisted because the wood that was used to build it shrunk and made it twist into a spiral.

When the time came to catch the bus I got only knowing the name of the town I was supposed to get off in, not really what it looked like or how far away it was. I had to ask a girl on the bus to see if she would tell me when to get off. When I arrived in Baslow it was still about 1.5 miles to Chatsworth and I was lucky that there was a walking path through the park to the Chatsworth Estate. I started walking the direction a gentleman pointed and followed a sign that led past houses with thatched roofs and fields full of sheep. It didn’t take long to make the walk and it was amazing walking through the fog and the mist to see a grand house towering ahead. I went on a tour of the house first, which is still inhabited by the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire. I took the audio guide walking tour and listened to the explanations while I walked through the house. My favorite rooms were the entry hallway with the grand staircase and the sculpture hall. There were many period decorated rooms and there was even a room that was dedicated to the films that were produced on the Chatsworth property.

After taking the full tour of the house I went out to the gardens and saw the fountain that shoots water so high that you can see it miles away. There were also acres of gardens on the estate that had flowers, lakes, and walking trails. I spent a few hours walking around through a hedge maze, along the flower beds, and watching the many fountains. It was always like I imagined after seeing it in the movies. After spending an afternoon walking around the park I walked back through the estate to catch the bus in Baslow back to Chesterfield and then back to Leicester. It was a fun day looking around the English countryside.



Additional photos below
Photos: 77, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Houses in BaslowHouses in Baslow
Houses in Baslow

I took the bus to Baslow and then walked through part of the Peak District National Park to Chatsworth.
Super Excited!Super Excited!
Super Excited!

if you can't tell i was really excited about this trip...especially after i found my way...
Path to ChatsworthPath to Chatsworth
Path to Chatsworth

Baslow was nice enough to have a sign and a nice walking path to Chatsworth
Yep, thatched rooves!Yep, thatched rooves!
Yep, thatched rooves!

the essence of England :)
Entrance to Carriage HouseEntrance to Carriage House
Entrance to Carriage House

they now have gift shops and tea shops in the Carriage house.
View of Entry Hall from TopView of Entry Hall from Top
View of Entry Hall from Top

sorry about the blurry pics but it was super dark in here!
The DuchessThe Duchess
The Duchess

the film was based on Giorgianna, the Duchess who lived at Chatsworth, good film, was made at the house.


6th July 2010

Mystery solved !
Your article is very nice. I also want to visit Chatsworth and you have saved me a lot of trouble,of how to get there.Now I know that I must find transport means before I stuck to Chesterfield rail station ! Thank you, thank you, thank you !

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb