Big Rig and Bowser's Barrow Adventures


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cumbria » Barrow-in-Furness
May 25th 2007
Published: May 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My second set of visitors for the week arrived on Friday night. Lisa and Andre who I flatted with in London, and Lisa’s sister Jenny. Unfortunately Jenny got sick overnight and trained back the next morning. The funny thing was that they had failed to mention that Jenny was coming at all! Everyone blames Andre. Even Andre.

Saturday I had cricket so Nicola took them to the Cartmel horse races. A whole group of Nic’s friends were there too so they had a good day out. Andre managed to win on nearly every race and came away about 100 pounds up. I wish I had have joined them, our cricket was abysmal. We got about 130, I was given out lbw for 3 when I hit the cover off it. Then they scored our total for the loss of no wickets. An absolute trouncing.

Sunday we woke up early and caught a bus to Newby bridge near Windermere in the Lake District. From here we went for a stroll across the countryside, saw a steam train, threw cow sh*t at Andre, went and had a look around High Dam and Lake Windermere before Andre shouted us lunch with his winnings.

Monday I again had cricket, this time away to Carnforth. After 8 overs the opposition had 50 on the board. I thought we were in for a hiding just like Saturday. Thankfully we dragged them back and restricted them to 202 off 44 overs. I got 2 wickets for 26 off 10 overs. Most of our batters all chipped in and our skipper scored 70* seeing us ease home in the 40th over. I was with him at the end unbeaten on 13.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.279s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 32; qc: 125; dbt: 0.1027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb