Two tickets to the gun show


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cumbria » Barrow-in-Furness
May 11th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have managed to get myself a job for a mate Andy Baxter who I played cricket with in Menorca last year. He owns a concreting firm called Stylecrete. So you guessed it I have been doing manual labour. It’s good for the guns (biceps to the lay person) and for the tan if it’s sunny. Lately though it has been pretty miserable weather. I have only had a couple of shockers so far, both with the wheel barrow and both with me face planting.

The manual labour must have helped my upper body strength because I managed to hit a few boundaries on Saturday. I ended up with 32 not out. Sadly though we didn’t get enough runs in total and ended up on the losing side.

Frank (Nicola’s Dad) has a house that he has built with a friend in Millom, a village about half an hour from Barrow. On Monday we went out and had a look at the place and then went for a stroll down the beach. Ruby, a dog with no owner in sight befriended us for an hour or so, so we ran it ragged by throwing it sticks.

Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday were spent working. Friday chilling and Saturday and Sunday I had cricket. Saturday we played away against Fleetwood. It was wet and grey to start with so when the opposition won the toss they put us into bat. We lost a lot of early wickets, but managed to bat through our 50 overs and score 120. I scored 22 near the end. This proved to be plenty as we skittled them for 40. Our opening bowlers doing the job in 14 overs.

Sunday was a tougher game, away to Netherfield. We again batted first, but the weather was great and the pitch also. We rattled up 180 off 40 overs, I chipped in with another 20 near the end. They got off to a reasonable start, but we managed to get their senior players out and put pressure on their tail enders who weren’t up to it. We ended up winning by about 15 runs. I contributed with a wicket, catch and a run out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0171s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb