London!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Cambridge
July 21st 2006
Published: July 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Moshi Moshi SushiMoshi Moshi SushiMoshi Moshi Sushi

Neat seating in the dining area.
With no laptop on my travels, I wrote in my journal. Here it is, transcribed in all of it's glory:

7-21-06

I heard London calling, minded the gap, and looked left. I'm here. London is amazing! It's huge, bustling, and full of every race, nationality and style.

The day went as such:
We left Selwyn right after breakfast, and caught a cab to the rail station. (Upon arriving there, I realized I needed my passport to use my BritRail pass, and had to ride a taxi back to Selwyn to grab it. Meh.) The train was neat. I alternated reading Zen and The Art of Motorcycle Maintainance and watching English farmland whoosh by. So we made it to London, bought a day pass for the underground (best transportation ever! So fast!) and found our hotel. (Which, it turned out, didn't have a room for us, so we got to stay at an even better hotel, The Raddington. Black marble floors in the bathroom, people! Need I say more?) After dropping off luggage, it was off to Leicester Square to buy cheap theater tickets to Avenue Q. (23 pounds a piece, balcony! Sweeeet.) Then, it was Sir John Soane's
Moshi Moshi Sushi 2Moshi Moshi Sushi 2Moshi Moshi Sushi 2

Conveyor belt sushi! So cool.
Museum (crazy collector who made his home into a museum. Awesome stuff!) Sushi at Moshi Moshi Sushi above Liverpool Station, (conveyor belt sushi! Cheap, too!) The British Museum (HUGE, amazing, big, incredible, mindblowing, very large.) For dinner before the show we went to a little Italian place down the street. It was delicious. It was authentic. It turns out that here in England, the Italian restaurants are run by actual Italians, the French pastry shops are run by French people... you get the idea. It's neat. Definitely different from America. Then we were off to watch Avenue Q! (Turns out the balcony was closed, so they upgraded our seats. We were 20 feet away from the stage, floor!) The show was AWESOME! It was one of the best I've ever seen. I haven't laughed that hard at a show... ever.

It was a good day.
It was an exhausting.

I like London!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The UndergroundThe Underground
The Underground

This is why some people call it "The Tube." So tubular.
The Underground 2The Underground 2
The Underground 2

Liverpool Street station!
Inside the British MuseumInside the British Museum
Inside the British Museum

Holy crap, it's big.
Inside the British Museum 4Inside the British Museum 4
Inside the British Museum 4

Hercules. Look at all of the books in the background! Sweeeet.
Inside the British Museum 5Inside the British Museum 5
Inside the British Museum 5

It's that wave picture that's everywhere! I always think of mom when I see it. She had a shirt with it on the front, I believe. I think of her, either way.
Inside the British Museum 6Inside the British Museum 6
Inside the British Museum 6

This is just one little room of the museum.
Inside the British Museum 7Inside the British Museum 7
Inside the British Museum 7

Exact replica of the Rosetta Stone. They let you touch it.
Inside the British Museum 9Inside the British Museum 9
Inside the British Museum 9

I like Buddhas. This one was about 6 or 7 feet tall.
Inside the British Museum 10Inside the British Museum 10
Inside the British Museum 10

Mandalas carved in stone. Breathtaking.
Inside the British Museum 11Inside the British Museum 11
Inside the British Museum 11

Mummies. Freaking mummies, right in front of me.
Inside the British Museum 12Inside the British Museum 12
Inside the British Museum 12

Egyptian kitty. Nice septum piercing, dude.
The liftThe lift
The lift

Another Undergound shot. Vertigo, anyone?
The RaddingtonThe Raddington
The Raddington

They left us fancy water and apples. Rawk.
The Raddington 2The Raddington 2
The Raddington 2

The bathroom. God, it's sexy.
HotHot
Hot

Blurry because I was holding it, but a picture of Neen, Beth and I all pretty for the theatre.


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb