It's hot. And by hot, I mean "England" hot.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Cambridge
July 19th 2006
Published: July 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sorry about this one...Sorry about this one...Sorry about this one...

I had some free time earlier, so I took a picture of myself looking cute in a tank top. My, have I lost weight from all of this walking?
But keep in mind, air conditioning is very rare here. Ugh.

Pretty relaxing day. Not too much traveling. Breakfast at 8a, class at 9a, plenary lecture at 10:30a, class at 11:45a. Took a nap and then went into town with Neen and Beth. Ate a tuna salad Baguette at a little cafe, and just sat and chatted. It was nice (the cafe had AC!)

After "lunch" (it was 4:00p) we wandered around the market, but everything closes at 5:30p there on weekdays. Meh. Found an awesomely cute, awesomely expensive sundress. 35 pounds. Needless to say, I didn't buy it.

We went to the evening lecture at 8:00p, and after that, it was off to a local pub (The Granta) for my first full pint of English beer. (I had IPA, which was on tap. Neen suggested it.) The pub was off of the main road (and overlooking the river), so it was full of locals, rather than the rich party kids of my campus. Score. We played Trivial Pursuit and had our pints with a "Mediterranian" (cheese) pizza. It was great. We clinked our glasses together, and cheered to London.

I won the game. Woot woot.
At the pub...At the pub...At the pub...

Neen liked her wooden spoon. Or maybe she was protecting her pint.

Sorry about the slow day. I'll try to be more exciting, dispite the heat!





Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Pint Time!Pint Time!
Pint Time!

My first full pint in England. I hope this makes Branton and Tim happy. It sure made me happy. (As you can see)
Trivial Pursuit beginsTrivial Pursuit begins
Trivial Pursuit begins

I was pondering. Them's some hard questions.
Oh. Oh, my.Oh. Oh, my.
Oh. Oh, my.

Neen and Beth are certainly enjoying that pizza.
Trivial Persuit continuesTrivial Persuit continues
Trivial Persuit continues

Bethany poses a question.


19th July 2006

You sound like you're having such a great time!
I'm so glad. (And super jealous, btw.) I hope you don't love it so much that you plan to stay forever. Some of us would miss you. Probably not barista Tim, but he's tall, so... Anyway, I *heart* you in the face. Miind the Gap.
19th July 2006

tank top
Damn, baby, you're looking skinny in that picture. Am I going to be able to toss you around when you get home?
20th July 2006

Oh, yeah
Nothing trivial about good English ale, is there? The trick can be staying vertical after drinking one on a hot day. On the other hand, prone provides a wonderful view of the lovely English sky........
22nd July 2006

Blogs is cool
I am REALLY enjoying your blogs! I am reading and rereading them, even if I am not responding very often. (My "hunt and peck"keyboard technique is extremely time consuming.) Keep them comming anyway. Beer and baguettes in backstreet cafes, gad, Briton is so cool! You have discovered ALE, your Dad is so proud. I am so pleased with what you are doing. I think about you all the time. In fact, I think I will go now to my tree-hanging chair-swing on the deck by the pool and think about you in Briton. (What a combination!!) Love you much.
22nd July 2006

"England" hot
"England" hot is, what, mid- seventies fahrenheit? That's what I set our house air-conditioning at. I hear the English roads melt at 90 degrees. Just for comparison, we hit 109 yesterday. Gasp.
23rd July 2006

Life looks good up north!
Hey Sara, my Dad told me you have a travel blog. Glad to see you're having fun up there. I just had a friend visit me here in Morocco from London. It's not far if you feel like taking a break from English speakers! Keep us posted on your adventures. Love, Heather

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb