Ah, the weekend...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Cambridge
July 17th 2006
Published: July 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Punting at King's CollegePunting at King's CollegePunting at King's College

Yay! A punting good time!

The weekend finally came!

Beth and I stayed in town while everyone else went to London (to get "like, totally wasted.") We started our day by sleeping in, and then going into town and stopping in a little cafe for breakfast. (Fruit, turkish pastries and tea) Then, we toured King's College (wowza... see pictures!) and Jesus College (An old nunnery. We like to say that we merely followed Hamlet's advice to Ophelia. "GET THEE TO A NUNNERY!!" Har har.) They were amazingly beautiful. Breathtaking. Awesome. Magnificent. I've run out of adjectives, but needless to say, you don't see architecture like that in the states. (unfortunate/funny in hindsight side-note, at the end of our tour of King's College, I was checking to see how much space I had left on my memory card, and I erased all of my pictures. I had to go back and take them all over again. It sucked. But I didn't freak out. The milk was spilled, and there was no use crying about it. It still sucked royally, though.) For dinner, we stopped at a noodle bar called "Yipee" and I had delicious noodles and veggies. After that, Beth and I got pretty and went to the local theater to see Annie. It was adorable. There were some good american accents!

On Sunday, we slept in even later, and then trekked out with Neen for Teri-Aki, the local sushi resturaunt. Yum. (See pictures) After that, we went to a local art show that takes place in each artist's home, and saw one artist's work with fused glass and etching. Neat-o. Then it was back to campus to do laundry, eat fudge we got from a little fudge shop in town...and have a half-pint. (Beth got a rum and coke. I was so proud!)

Today, it's been classes (so interesting!) and a walk into town for a brie and tomato baguette. Today in Nature and the Natural, I learned that Pythagoras is a myth. And that american cars ( "land-yachts" as our tutor calls them,) suck, and can't make proper U-turns. But I already knew that last one.

Later today, Neen, Beth and I are going to the Fitzwillliam museum a little after 3. Then it's a meeting with Donna Love (kill me) and dinner.

I'm going to London on Friday! EEEE!

Oh, and thank you, everyone, for the witty
Cows!Cows!Cows!

King's College
comments! I love you!


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Birdies!Birdies!
Birdies!

King's College
King's College 5King's College 5
King's College 5

Turrets! (I couldn't help it. I dig sky shots.)
King's College 8King's College 8
King's College 8

Turrets, Sky shot. (Told you I liked them.)
Who datt durr?Who datt durr?
Who datt durr?

Who's more awe-inspiring? Me, or the fountain?
Illigal picture 1Illigal picture 1
Illigal picture 1

We weren't supposed to take pictures inside the King's College Chapel. But, hey, all the Japanese kids were doing it! And with flash!
King's College 10King's College 10
King's College 10

Wow. That's high up.
King's College 12King's College 12
King's College 12

Punting. Bridge. So pretty.



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0792s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb