London, day two


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Cambridge
July 22nd 2006
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Transcribed from my journal yet again:

7-22-06

We got up early and walked to a cute little French pastry shop. I had something akin to a croissant with yummy fruit inside. Delicious. Then it was off to the Tower of London. It was HUGE. It's strange to think that I was walking where Henry the VIII, Anne Boleyne, even Queen Elizabeth I walked. We saw the crown jewels, the "Bloody Tower", the torture display, and the spot where the beheadings took place (those beheaded there include Anne Boleyn.) Oh! And we watched the ravens. They are BIG boys! I guess they keep them fat to keep them from leaving. Legend has it that if the ravens leave, the tower will fall.

Next was Westminster Abby (Big, beautiful, breathtaking), Big Ben (Really big. We walked out of Westminster station, looked up, and BAM! There was Ben, absolutely towering above us), then Parliament (from afar). We found a little "greasy spoon" type cafe and finally had fish and chips. The fish portion was as big as my forearm. Yowsa.

Let me tell you something I've learned about fish and chips. THEY ARE DELICIOUS.

After that, we went to
Outside the Tower of London 2Outside the Tower of London 2Outside the Tower of London 2

Another portion of the castle...
some random shops, and ended our evening at the Namco Play Station. It had to have been the biggest arcade I have ever seen in my life. Video games, DDR, bumper cars, bowling ally, AND a bar. It was insane. Dinner was at another cute little authentic Italian cafe down the street from the hotel. A pizza hit the spot, and our waiter was fun.

I realized that we have an internet cafe less than a block away, a Ben & Jerrys, Sushi restaurant and an Underground station across the street, and stores all around. And I don't think this place sleeps.

This would seem to be paradise.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Inside the Tower of LondonInside the Tower of London
Inside the Tower of London

Walking brick pathways.
Inside the Tower of London 2Inside the Tower of London 2
Inside the Tower of London 2

Stained glass in one of the towers.
RavenRaven
Raven

Mr. Raven McChunkypants. About as big as a cat.
Wow! Look! A raven!Wow! Look! A raven!
Wow! Look! A raven!

God, I'm a dork.
StaircaseStaircase
Staircase

in one of the towers. Henry the VIII wouldn't have been able to climb it, it was so narrow. (We all know what a fatty he was) I only had a few inches of room on each side myself.
Big BenBig Ben
Big Ben

I told you he was big.
The London EyeThe London Eye
The London Eye

Big freaking ferris wheel.
Sky ShotSky Shot
Sky Shot

One of the top parts of the abby.
Fish and chips!Fish and chips!
Fish and chips!

Yes, it tasted as good as it looks.
Into You Tattoo Into You Tattoo
Into You Tattoo

World renowned for their work. No, mom. I didn't get anything done there.
Best store name everBest store name ever
Best store name ever

Awwww. Maybe this can be Tim's new nickname, instead of Lady Mitchell. (After where our lectures take place, Lady Mitchell Hall. I thought it was clever.)
Dali MuseumDali Museum
Dali Museum

Neat sculpture. A big replica of one of his, for all of you who aren't art history majors.


Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0186s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb