Cambridge and the rest of this week


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Cambridge
October 18th 2008
Published: October 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

King's CollegeKing's CollegeKing's College

Cambridge, looks even better in real life!
Saturday - Cambridge was awesome! It is kind of blah when you get there, piles of bikes for rent and stuff. I think it was about a 15 minute walk into the main part, Begona and I walked forever it seemed trying to find the tourist information centre. The train ride was about an 1 1/2 hours to get to Cambridge from where I live with one stopover in Welywyn Garden City where we met up. Anyhow, we browsed some shops, found a Christian bookstore which was the first I've found. I browsed some books and did some Christmas purchasing, whoo hoo. We finally found the tourist information and I got booked in for the tour at 2pm. In the meantime, we had a couple hours to browse some churches, markets and eat some lunch. I had a gigantic pasty with potatoes and beef, it was pretty good but I think I will try the Mushroom/Cheese one next time, it would be better I think. Mmm, just thinking about them makes me hungry. Anyhow, I have updated my Facebook with pictures in the album Cambridge. Definately check them out if you can! The tour was quite good, I learned a
King's ChapelKing's ChapelKing's Chapel

A photo that somewhat shows the majestic size of this amazing church. The details in that fan roof and the stained glass windows...wow!
lot about the history of the universities and colleges, it's very impressive. They have a really cool grasshopper clock that moves around the seconds, it's super hard to explain but it is posted on www.youtube.com so you can check it out there. (SEARCH "WONSTABLE" to see all my videos to date) REALLY NEAT. It's worth £1,000,000, not that I would ever want it that bad but cool to see for sure. King's College was the neatest one I think. I got to go into the King's chapel and they have the largest fan shaped ceiling in the world, it's huge. It has 26 windows that are massive, covered in stained glass. The organ is a big WOW in itself with two angels on either side with gold trumpets that match the gold of the pipes. I was able to attend a chapel service with Begona and Minjae, a student doctor at Trinity College from Australia. Minjae took the walking tour and we were picture buddies for the day. Begona didn't want to do the walking tour so she did her own thing during that time. The service was really traditional. They had choir boys aged 9 - 13 with the
Newton's Apple tree (descendant)?Newton's Apple tree (descendant)?Newton's Apple tree (descendant)?

Well, that is the story of Trinity College anyways...#(p.s. I have updated an album of these pics and more on Facebook - CAMBRIDGE)
most beautiful voices I have literally ever heard, it was like I could feel Christmas in my bones already! I don't know how to explain it but it was incredible. They had a few Bible readings and then they had a choral practice where you just listen to different people play the organ, really neat. So, I got quite the day out in Cambridge. It was one of my best days here for sure, definately packing in as much as possible. I got home around 10:00pm and was exhausted from everything, I had done quite a bit of walking by the end of it all. The family had gone out to a wedding party so I had the house to myself and was too tired to do anything crazy like watching a midnight movie! Ahh well, made the most out of my day I figured.


Monday - I did a really good clean of the mess in the Kitchen. There was a bunch of stuff all piled up and I was able to reorganize it all so that it doesn't look messy at all! I am very proud, should really do some before and after pics! I want to work on tidying up the outside yard and stuff as well but all in good time I am tackling this house! By the time all my visitors have come, this place isn't going to look anything like I have explained. I did a bit of pulling weeds in the front entrance and will finish that tomorrow as well as sweep up the greenery left from today, ran out of time before I had to get the kids. It was funny, I got Alex working in his closet with me which went surprisingly well. He said he knew I was going to be really organized as I'd planned what I would wear to the airport, he spotted me first! He asked if I liked being an aupair, I said yes - do you like having me? He quickly answered OH YES! It was really sweet. I told him that was a very good answer! So, I guess all the rules I've set haven't made me the live in meanie! Yay.

Tuesday - It was a busy day and the kids were not happy campers in the morning, it was brutal. I volunteered at the Cancer Research shop and learned how to work the cash register there! It was really fun working up front with the customers. After my 4 hours there, I walked home to do laundry and some weeding. Soon enough it was time to get the kids again but this time I had 4, Mia and Arthur joined us for the evening to hang out with Alex and Rhiannon. They must have enjoyed themselves because Arthur hid and wouldn't come out when his mom came and Mia prolonged the goodbye for at least 20 minutes. Finally, I was finished with the kids homework or at least some of it by 7pm. I walked up to the tube station and got to the church station, it was raining but not too bad. This week's session was " Why did Jesus have to die?" It was extremely moving to me, I understood so much more of what Jesus did for all of us when he died on the cross. I know I've heard about sin all my life and we never really think we are a bad person when we compare ourselves to the bad guys out there, etc. When you look at Jesus and compare yourself honestly, there is a difference though. They explained in more detail how he was beaten and then crucified as well as explaining more of the Old Testament. Basically, in the Old Testament of the Bible it is really ritualistic, you had to sacrifice animals and put your sin on them to be pure. Jesus became the lamb that was slain to forgive us our sins. They explained how we get angry when someone is hurt by another, we want justice. Well, there laws about our sin and the punishment is death, Jesus died for our sins so we could have eternal life with him. I can't explain it all perfectly in writing this but anyhow, definately check out an Alpha course if you get the chance. This stuff might sound like something you've heard before but for me today, it was explained in a way I could understand more fully. Jesus' love for us is truly amazing!



The rest of my week went by fairly quickly, a few challenges with the kids - I was a mean aupair and banned them from the park after a bunch of whining and rudeness. Definately doing well in the follow-up consequences with them!



Saturday - today, I started my first offender's panel training. It was cool, smaller group than they had expected but it was sweet. Basically, if a youth under 18 pleads guilty to a charge in court, they can be involved in our program. It's similiar to restorative justice where the youth, their caregiver/parent attends the meeting to find reparation in the situation. It was mostly about how and why crime happens, etc. The factors that come into play that have to be considered. It was a long day but all in all great learning. I am looking forward to actually getting into the work with the youth. WE will get a detailed report of their situation (family background, living conditions, etc.) and then have 2 other ppl, 1 volunteer and 1 staff member who assist in making a fair decision on something the youth can achieve. I came home from the day quite exhausted! I got a chat with Chris and got updated on his RCMP graduation stories. It was pretty cool talking to him as a Constable although really, it isn't all that different - same guy, really cool title! Smiles. ANyhow, it's always good having a chat with my friends and family from home.



Things at home have changed a bit. Lynne quit her job in Abu Dhabi with 4 weeks notice so she is still working for a little while here but basically, she has an interview for another job on Monday. She may not have to go back to work as Dave got a bit of a promotion and offer to buy shares at a great rate. I am not sure where all of these changes leave me in their family life but they are planning to have me around for Christmas at least. Good news! I haven't actually talked to them about my future with their changes but I know they are really happy having me here and whatever, guess I will be here for as long it is meant to be. It's been quite the ride thus far! Oh, I must mention that I got a doorlock installed today, very exciting indeed.



Well, that covers my week thus far - not going to give any hints about what is coming next but enjoy the new stories and pics and check out www.youtube.com (with sound) to see my videos. I have some work to do on the video part so forgive my random filmings and chats but it will get better! I only had my camera in use for about a week at the points where i took them. Have a great week, will update again soon. Hugs - Chloe



Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb