Summer rain


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Bristol County » Bristol
August 14th 2008
Published: August 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Steven//
Here are some pictures from the harbour festival in Bristol ( 2nd and 3rd Aug). I (Steven) am staying for a short stop in the UK. It's a stop of 6 weeks here before heading back to Latvia.
I have felt over the past year and a bit that I was fleeing my native country in order to taste more exotic experiences. Many times on my travels I looked at Britain as dreary, having removed myself to the other side of the world and comparing life at home with all the new exploits that were in store there. When I came back to Britain, I firstly noticed that it was a pleasure to understand all that was said around me but what was really nice was the turn of phrase and the day to day language I heard on buses and in the street- what we would call as ESL teachers- "colloquial English". This made me feel at home instantly and melted my heart towards the UK, as old familiarity flooded back into my life. I had my first fish and chips- something I had craved for the last 6 months at least, and started to bring my tea drinking(with milk) up to a proper regularity.
When I first got back, I remembered how mixed a society the UK is- people from all over the world in a lovely blend. This forray into my own country's culture has left me warmed( the whether though has been predictably rainy). It's great to go out into the world to try and find yourself, but maybe more is found right at home.
As with, I think, most of the other bloggers on here, I have discovered an appetite for travel- which will probably need to be satiated regularly, but right now I'm enjoying the break.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Me with family just before my birthday.Me with family just before my birthday.
Me with family just before my birthday.

Has been really nice catching up!
Cows and applesCows and apples
Cows and apples

Lovely green British countryside
Monkey businessMonkey business
Monkey business

One of my twin brother, Michael's paintings- not serious but really fun!


14th August 2008

Late!
Hey you guys!apologies for lack of communication, whats new there....happy Belated Birthday! Will send something once I get a chance...Steven where to? You're sounding very happy and actually quite mature! ahhem...I'm half way thro an artist in residence post...fantastic, just a bit further north from home, so all things been very arty. I have a show at the end of the month...so presssures on...squueeeze! Lots of Love caroline xxxxxx

Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 76; dbt: 0.1714s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb