Lord and Lady of the Manor


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Berkshire » Maidenhead
May 3rd 2010
Published: May 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

London under a brooding skyLondon under a brooding skyLondon under a brooding sky

We tried to stay awake on our first day back by going into London
Recently, we were lucky enough to house-sit a converted barn which dates back to the 17th century. Ish. I dunno, it’s old. So old, in fact, that it’s sideways. I kid you not, it’s on an angle, as you’ll see in the photos. The house came with a couple of dogs, much to Mon’s delight.
We were, thus, put in charge of a huge house with an equally massive garden, complete with fountains shaped as nubile ladies.
Little did I know I would be cruelly pulled away from this bucolic fantasy by a recruiter. Called on Monday, started on Tuesday. Sort of a Craig David song, but not quite. It was a bit of a shame, really, as we were having some great weather which meant there was a lot of sunbathing to be done. But then, this course I want to do is going to cost a lot.
Oh yeah, by the way, I got in! I will be starting a Master’s degree in International Relations in October at the University of Sussex, which is next to Brighton. It’s very exciting! I will basically be indulging my extreme geekitude and learning about democracy and international institutions and trade and stuff. People think I’m nuts or really boring. Somewhere in between will be fine.
Anyway before the whole work thing started, we were lucky enough to get some inside information about how these places worked back in the day. As it turns out, folks ate, lived and breathed on the estate. It had a dairy, a vege garden, a laundry etc - they were self-sufficient, and indeed during the war they were lucky enough to have meat, while normal people were eating the soles of their shoes. Interesting fact - back in the day, only kids that lived on other estates were allowed to come and visit, because only they knew how to behave in the highly stratified microcosm of these mini-societies.
Right now, though, we’re back with the commoners at Eton. I am cycling to work, and quite enjoying having a routine again - unemployment is not all it’s cracked up to be, as Mon will tell you. She had an interview for a contract in Portsmouth, which could be fun (we would go and live there) but she’s really enjoying her yoga. She also completed a Vipassana meditation course, which means that we meditate together regularly. Very zen, dude.
Nubile ladies,Nubile ladies,Nubile ladies,

as promised

So quite a lot for us to look forward to, basically - I've just applied for some scholarship funding from the University, and Mon is enthusiastically reading about various types of yoga. For me, knowing that I am finally making the leap away from my background of supply chain work is super-exciting, and Mon is avidly looking for a yoga teacher course in Brighton.
Yay!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Our placeOur place
Our place

Yup, this is the place that was left in our care. Irresponsible, really...
Dizzy and FloraDizzy and Flora
Dizzy and Flora

Flora has diabetes, and is 12 years old!
Stone tableStone table
Stone table

Holds the sun's heat, good place to lie down...


3rd May 2010

I enjoyed reading about your experience house sitting, and searching for jobs. My boyfriend and I live the same life in Los Angeles! We move around from empty house to look after, to the next, do yoga, etc. Reading your post was like reading a parallel example! Our blog is looking for travel tips (like maybe how to find house sitting gigs!), photos, etc, to share. If you have the time, check it out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com, or email me at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com. Good luck with it all! Heather :)
23rd May 2010

Not all as it seemed!!
I love your sense of humour. I see you didn't mention going off to the Vets at 10pm on a Sunday night,or trying to persuade a diabetic dog that she really would like to eat her supper! And of course there was the water dripping through the back kitchen ceiling! I probably could go on but don't want to spoil your lovely image of being Lord and Lady of the Manor!!

Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb