L'viv


Advertisement
Ukraine's flag
Europe » Ukraine » Lviv
September 16th 2008
Published: September 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello!!! In L'viv now waiting for a train to Kiev. It's about midday here and train is not until 8pm. We left Krakow 2 days ago now. Missed the train we had booked on after a mix up involving me and Adelle getting a bit lost when we split up whilst Nance went and bought new luggage. At the time for some reason it was really demoralising. I felt worse than when we lost the car and when we couldn't find anywhere to stay in Slovakia. I think it was because this time it was in our control. Still, in the end it didnt matter, got a train only half hour later. However, this would now involve changing over near the Ukrainian border. We stopped in a small Polish town called Pryzemysl. Nothing here, bit of a ghost town but we found a bar and it was less that 1 pounf for a pint!! We finally got back on our other train after having to go through passport control for the first time since we left the UK. It wasn't long though before we stopped again as we arrived at the Ukranian border. We sat here in our squashed little cabin that somehow squeezed in 3 beds for a couple of hours. Then we had to be interrogated again as to why we wanted to go to Ukraine. The woman made me start to doubt that i was actually me the way she sized me up and compared me to my picture in my passport. But turns out i am me and all was fine.

We got to L'viv quicker than we thought which was annoying as i was having a good sleep. this is because the clocks went forward again so we are now 2 hours ahead of the UK. L'viv station was manic but we found a cab driver - who turned out to have a broken foot or something as we found out when he hopped to open the boot for us. His car was ancient, reminded me of the car fake Santa drove in Home Alone. Driving here is strange. I think you are allowed to drive on both sides of the road and even the pavements if it means avoiding potholes. The hotel he took us to was way out of our budget but another short cab later and we were at Hotel L'viv. An absolute shamble of a place. Still, it's very cheap and i've got a room to myself for 2 nights. I think a 4 year old could kick my door down though so both nights i slept with my backpack propped up in front of it.

I got up early the next morn and went for a shower. There was no shower. I think somebody had nicked it. There was just a small fountain left in its place but at least i got hot water as i crouched under it. Later that day when the girls finally got up we went wandering and found the main square. It's quite a nice place but i think more for the summer. There didn't seem to be much going on and it was raining all day. So we spent the day in different bars where i could get a beer for 60p!!!! Oh yeh, and earlier that day i managed to buy a phone charger for 2pounds!! So cheap here. Inevitably though Spurs were playing that night so i had to find a pub with the game. The girls didn't fancy it though so left me to myself halfway through.

We are running out of time to get to St Petersburg for the start of our Russia trip so i think we are going to have to skip straight through on the trains as quickly as possible.

Advertisement



16th September 2008

Finally caught up with your blog - good stuff! Cant believe bout Nancy's backpack hope she ok! Have fun in Russia :0)

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb