Short Trip to Kiev


Advertisement
Ukraine's flag
Europe » Ukraine » Kiev
December 17th 2007
Published: December 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Kiev 1Kiev 1Kiev 1

I did not get to see much as it was dark, but it seemed like a great time to visit.
This was a short business trip to Kiev to visit another poultry company there. I did not get to see much of the town so I only have a few pictures and they were all at night, but it was enough that I would like to go back and visit some more during the day. The town was much more "European" than I thought for. One could still see a lot of Soviet in it, but it has a lot more color and design than you normally see in Russia. We also learned the country is very divided between the pro-EU and the pro-Russia depending on where you live in the country.

On the way home, the plane was full and we were really late checking in so ended up in the back of the plane with some of the last seats. I was making fun of Oleg for getting stuck in the middle seat. Guess what, I get the FAT guy next to me who is actually in my seat. I call the stewart over and he tells me the guy would like to trade seats with me and I say NO! Just because he is fat does not give him the right to my seat, when the middle seat is assigned to him. He tries to argue there is not enough room in the middle for him and I explain that is not my problem, he should have bought two seats and/or upgraded to first class. There was no way I was going to be stuck between one big guy and one FAT guy all the way home. He finally moves over and complains the entire way. The part I thought was funny was when the steward made him put the arm rest down then he truly was squeezed in and had to stay on his side!

On landing, I have no idea why, but he leans against the seat in front of him which happens to be Michael. I do not think he realized it was not locked type seat so when he pushed on it, it bent Michael in half. It was so funny watching Michael's face as he looks at Alan who is sitting next to him. It may be one of those things where you had to be there, but it was funny!

Not a lot to write here, but just a few pictures for you. Also, for those of you that do not know, I am now the acting Director of Operations. The old director went out on sick leave, he is fine now from an illness stand point, but while he was out, I was asked to help manage it. Even though it was only for several months, I was able to get a lot of things turned around. I did not do it on purpose, but it showed a lot of weakness we had in our production management so the old director was put on "special projects" and I was asked to stay on as Director of Operations and Technical Service. We changed it from QA Director because of having PD and all of the Laboratory reporting to me. I must say this is a very new role for me. It is great from a learning stand point, but I am back to my 12 hour days 6 days a week. I have to admit, I was liking the 8-5 job 5 days a week. So now I can not complain about something getting done and/or not getting done, they ALL report to me!

I know the week
Kiev 2Kiev 2Kiev 2

The plant we went to visit.
back in the States will be a nice break. I am sure they all think the same about me leaving as well, "It will be a nice break for Vince to be away from the plant for a week. I wonder if we can talk him into staying away longer"...lol Although it will not effect me yet, Michael will be the first one to deal with being out of the country as much as he is in the country as he will have the first visa of us (Michael, Alan and me) under the new law. It will be interesting. I will keep you posted.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Years!

Advertisement



21st December 2007

Merry Christmas! q(^_^)p
4th January 2008

Vince, the country is not divided in fact, just eastern part don't have a clue what is EU like.
6th January 2008

Thank You
I was only reporting what I was told, but thank you for the clarification.

Tot: 0.372s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb