Happy Holidays!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio
January 1st 2008
Published: January 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

MeMeMe

Ginger took this picture for me at the wedding.
Happy New Year!

I am back from a very rushed 10 days in the States; however, I did visit everyone I wanted to see and got everything completed that I wanted to do. All kinds of funny stories to tell, but thankfully nothing major. It all started on the night of the 20th when I was laying in bed wondering if I told my driver the correct time to pick me up depending on traffic. I went to check on my tickets again and realized I was an hour off from what I thought. I am use to taking the Moscow Atlanta flight but it was not flying on Friday due to Delta's winter schedule and the New York flight leaves 50 minutes earlier. I had planned enough time, barring any major traffic and it was midnight so I really did not want to call and wake anyone so I decided to text Misha to make it 6 AM instead of 6:30. I really wanted to make it 5:30, but not sure if he would get it or not, I did not want to be up that early and and just waiting. Sure enough he got the text and was
Mom and DadMom and DadMom and Dad

Congratulations Mom and Dad for being the longest married couple (41 years) at the wedding! It was neat seeing them as the last couple standing on the dance floor!
waiting for me at 6 AM.

To complicate matters, Alan wanted to give me my Christmas gift but forgot to bring it on Thursday he decides we will meet somewhere between Obninsk and Moscow as he is coming into work and I am going to the airport. Surprisingly, it worked out well and we even found a safe place for both of us to pull off the side of the road. He bought me a very nice crystal decanter. His intentions were that I took it home with me, but I wanted to keep it here in Russia and use it for awhile so I left it in the car.

We got to the airport in plenty of time, actually three hours early which was fine with me, but that airport is so boring; there is nothing to do. The check in process went fine so I headed to the gate to find the inbound was two hours late from New York so that left me with 5 hours of waiting around the airport. Overall, it went fine as I wondered through the place looking at all of the overpriced gifts and alcohol at the duty free stores.
Christmas at the Kramer’sChristmas at the Kramer’sChristmas at the Kramer’s

Christmas at the Kramer’s: Santa was pretty good to all of us at the Kramer's house this year.
After we get on the full flight, we sit on the tarmak for another hour due to a warning light. We go back to the gate "where maintenance is going to look at it". All I can hope is that they are not the same maintenance crew that works for me at Elinar-Broiler...lol. After an hour they tell us it was only the A/C and it will be fine so we will take off shortly. That is until the middle part of the ceiling where the emergency oxygen mask are stored falls down on this guys head as we are getting ready to take off. We pull off the runway again so they can move people and leave it hanging. It is not very pretty under those ceiling panels! Once airborn, they push it back up and it stayed up until we landed in JFK.

To make the extra hour longer flight due to the maintenance issues worse, I found out it is "romper room" time with all of the kids and their parents on this flight with me. Once the unfasten seat belt light came off, they were running all over the plane including a kid with those
Mom and IceeMom and IceeMom and Icee

This is my mom's newest donkey, Icee. He was born just a few weeks ago and is cute as cute can be!
roller skate shoes and up and down the asile he went. I felt like putting my leg out and tripping him but feared for my own welfare. Thankfully the guy next to me was friendly so we talked awhile. He was from the US, but living in Russia for the past three years and worked for John Deere. I was lucky also not to have his seat against the window because the seat in front of him did not lock in place and reclined back, all the way back into his lap. The guy tried to keep it forward, but any weight at all, the seat came on back.

With all of the delays, I missed my connection in New York where they rebooked me in a middle seat to Atlanta. I guess I should be lucky to have that seat as it was the Holidays and there were not many open seats anywhere. I did call the Gold Desk to see if they could help me get a better seat and they were able to move me to an exit row, but that ended up being a nightmare as well. The guy next to me, in the middle
Fent ChristmasFent ChristmasFent Christmas

This is the Fent/Kramer Christmas at my mom and dad's house.
seat decides he needs not only both arm rests, but an additional three or four inches into my seat as well. He was not a big guy, but just thought he should have the extra room. Finally after bumping with him a few times thinking he may not notice he it taking more than his fare share, I ask him nicely to move his elbows in. He did not think it was necessary and said it was me that was bumping him so I rang for an attended. He is dumb enough to leave his elbows in my chair so she tells us that if we can get along one of us will have to move, which I gladly offer to do. She moved me with another stewardess who was flying back to Atlanta. She tells the guy he if can not get along with her, she will find him a new seat, off the plane! He smarts back with "what do you mean by that." She said nothing and moved us. Later on as she was serving drinks, she jokingly tells me, no fighting back here. I tell her I promise to be good and went to sleep.
Kramer'sKramer'sKramer's

This is my mom, dad, sister (Ginger), and me all dressed up for my cousin's wedding.

Mark had planned a little get together with everyone for when I got home, but I had called him and woke him up at 6 AM knowing I would not make it so he could call everything off. He also purposedly waited until Saturday morning to leave for Illinois so we could see each other. Needless to say, I rolled in at midnight and we talked for about an hour then he headed to his family during the night so he did not have to fight traffic.

On Saturday, I met Malin for lunch and then met up with Jamie and Bill so we could run errands together and visit. On Sunday, I finished up what I needed to do and then met several people from Wayne Farms for dinner at the local restaurant and stopped by to visit with Melissa, and her parents who were visiting from AL. I did not stay long as I needed to get back and pack to make sure everything would fit in the suitcase. Then Monday morning, I headed to the airport to visit my parents and sister in Ohio.

We had a great visit and like always ate way too
Rob and KaraRob and KaraRob and Kara

This is my cousin Kara and her (now) husband Rob at their wedding.
much. Santa was very good to me this year and I got plenty of DVDs to watch on the cold winter nights here in Russia, along with some clothes and a nice quilt Mom made to also keep me warm. It was great being home for Christmas. Last year was very lonely being here by myself so I made sure I went home this year.

On Wednesday, I went to meet Tim, a good friend from many years ago, in Muncie, which was about half way for both of us. I was not feeling my best as I think all the running around and jet lag had caught up with me, but I have not seen Tim in a long time so I wanted to meet. Thankfully Dad offered to go along, and drive so I slept most of the way there and back, which was too bad because he (Dad) just bought a new Crossfire that he drove and even offered to let me drive. It must not have driven too bad because I did sleep most of the way...lol

On Wednesday night, we had the Fent (my mom's side of the family) get-together to at my
Street GuardStreet GuardStreet Guard

Freddie and Leo on Oxana Square in Obninsk.
parents house. That too was a good time and I got to see most everyone. I was sort of surprised everyone stayed and socialized as much as they did because that Saturday, my cousin was getting married and I knew we would all see each other at the wedding.

As for Thursday and Friday, we just ran a few errands and did a few odds and end things around the house/town. Even though I did not feel my best, it was nice just resting and relaxing with family. On Saturday, we left for Cincinnati for my cousin's wedding, which went real well. I thought it would be a little more wild than it was, but it was very nice. To be honest, I do not think I would have recognized my two cousins all dressed up as nice as they looked. I am use to seeing them a little more laid back, but I must stay Kara and Kylee both looked awesome. I also had a chat with Rob, the groom, to tell him to take good care of my cousin or I might have to come back with a bunch of Russians and beat him up. We laughed
New Year's Party at my flatNew Year's Party at my flatNew Year's Party at my flat

New Year's guest...please notice the new fondue pot being put to great use.
and he promised to take good care of her.

On Sunday, Mom, Dad, and Ginger dropped me off at the airport in Dayton to fly to Atlanta to fly home. Both of those flights were delayed due to fog in Atlanta, but no missed flights. The flight to Moscow was pretty empty so I got all three chairs together to myself and slept a good 7 hours of the flight. I do not know why, but the jet lag has bothered me more on this trip than in past ones. I am not sure if it is the age or just the amount of time I have been here, but it was rough this time.

I got home (Obninsk) and texted everyone to let them know I was back and after unpacking my suitcase, I laid down for a nap. Later that evening, I met up with Leo and Freddie on the Square. We went to visit one of our friends that lives near there then on to another one of their friends flat. I headed home to get the food and drinks ready and shortly, Freddie, Leo and Helen arrived. We used the new fondue pot Dasha and Michael got me for Christmas. Not that we really needed to eat, but it was good to eat and toast the New Year.

Now if I can get over this cold so I can feel my best before our trip to Sochi. Yes, the Obninsk Street Guard (Leo, Freddie, and Alexey) and the American (me), are going Sochi to go skiing for my birthday. Going skiing someplace around MLK has become sort of a tradition and the Obninsk Street Guards do not have their external passports as well as I always wanted to visit Sochi so it made for an ideal place to go. I hope they have a little more snow than we do here in Obninsk, but we will have fun no matter what.

I had best get to bed, but I do want to wish everyone a happy, healthy, and successful 2008! Happy New Year from Vince

Advertisement



7th January 2008

Happy New Year 2008
Hey Vince: The pictures turned out great from what I could see! Glad you made it back safely. Happy 2008!
8th January 2008

Wonderful Wedding!
It was great seeing you (and Rob). I know you had a professional photographer but sometimes some of the unposed pictures are the best. My mom should have the ones I took as well as the the Fent Christmas, if interested. Congratulations to both of you!

Tot: 0.45s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 59; dbt: 0.1151s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb