The best way to "ring" in the 4th of July


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Lauterbrunnen
July 5th 2008
Published: July 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: More Cowbell 1 secs
Yesterday, we quickly discovered that the Swiss really like Americans. On the 4th of July we woke up to breakfast in our hotel with American flag placemats and mini flag toothpicks in the muffins. It was the most festive either one of us has been in a while.

We then set out on our journey to the Jungfrou (one of the highest points in Europe). A few hours and several train rides later, we were at the top of the mountain in about 30 degree weather..... in July. Definitely not prepared for that. Especially since John decided that we couldnt just stand on the look out point and admire the scenery. We had to go OUT INTO THE SNOW.... yuck. But we did go on a pretty cool dog sledding ride. And then we treked several miles in the snow again to some distant cabin and ate some weird Swiss food. We still dont really know what it was...... And despite the snow, the scenery was absolutely beautiful.

On the way back down the mountain, we got off the train and decided to hike part of the way back to our town of Lauterbruten. As Im busy taking nature pictures, I notice John illegally scurrying off the marked trail and telling me to follow him to a rock precariously perched on a ledge. With the most amazing view in the background, John professed his undying love for me 😊 and asked me to marry him. Of course I said yes! No further plans yet, were just enjoying the moment. But stay posted in the coming months.

And I hear that some of you already knew about this..... I always thought my friends and family couldnt keep a secret to save their lives. You all just proved me wrong. Congrats.

Weve included lots of pics and a video of some cows from todays walk down from the Shilthorn (another big mountain) so enjoy!

Leslie and John



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



5th July 2008

Congratulations!!
Just saw your post. Congratulations. We will be in Switzerland July 16. Loved the cow bell.
5th July 2008

Congrats!
Congratulations to the happy couple!
5th July 2008

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!
CONGRATULATIONS from Liz and Hil!!!!!!!!!!! holy lllama crap! So now you guys are indefinitely in luffff! We luffffff you :)
5th July 2008

OMG!
Leslie!!! I am so excited right now. I was thinking the other day that this would be the perfect time for you to get engaged but I wasn't sure if I would be in trouble if I wrote that. I can't believe it!! You are so cute together! Tarbutton, I haven't met you, but I love you already!! The ring is gorgeous. It is so perfect, Leslie (dainty and beautiful). I love you!! Have fun the rest of your trip and call me as soon as you get back! xo
5th July 2008

YAYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!! Congratulations!
6th July 2008

Congratulations!!!!!!!!!
Woo Hoo!!!!!!!!!!!!! We had a feeling :) Anthony says, "What guy spends that kind of money on a trip with their girlfriend without 'big plans?'" I say... Happy 4th of July!
6th July 2008

Congrats!!!!!!!!
Congrats guys!!! John... what can I say...you are the man my friend!!!! :) Love the ring!! This trip log thing rocks... wish I would have known about it when I went to Europe. Enjoy the rest of the trip and keep the blogs on coming. Ta Ta
6th July 2008

Engagement
Congrats guys. Hope you enjoy the rest of the trip and are ready for some celebratory shots when you get back in town.
6th July 2008

Congrats
Congrats!
6th July 2008

Congrats!
Hey guys...CONGRATULATIONS!! Carolina and I are really happy for you both! We were placing bets on when it would happen ;-) Looks like you are having a blast touring Europe; keep the pictures coming. -Alex and Carolina
6th July 2008

Congrats!
Hey- I just heard the exciting news. I am so happy for both of you. Want to hear all about your trip when you get back.
6th July 2008

CONGRATULATIONS!
CONGRATULATIONS! I GOT ON YOUR BLOG TO SHOW MY SIS PICS OF WHERE YOU WERE AND SAW THE NEW POST AND THEN WE BOTH STARTED SCREAMING (just a little...) B/C IT'S SO EXCITING YOU'RE ENGAGED!! I had no idea, obviously, what was going on, but I think it's safe to say that most people may have thought John was crazy to not have proposed on a month long trip to Europe. I'm so excited for you!!!! Now I am definitely going to meet you John. Yay! :))) I'm a little teary-eyed... it's ridiculous. :) Have a great time and love the pictures. (and the ring! :) Leslie, you're articles are quite humorous - good reading. :)
6th July 2008

Yea!
Congratulations Leslie and John! Leslie- I knew this would happen! This is too perfect of a vacation and you two look too cute not to get engaged! =) Have fun on the rest of your vacation!
6th July 2008

Congratulations!!!
7th July 2008

Congrats and Felicidades
Leslie and John, Congrats! I am so excited for you guys I luff you both ALOT! Cheers to you guys, Peter and I will open a bottle of bubbly in your names!
7th July 2008

CONGRATULATIONS!!!
CONGRATULATIONS SIS!!! That's a pretty fly lookin' ring if I say so myself Mrs. Tarbutton! Keep on having fun on the trip and once again congratulations. I can't wait for the big wedding extravaganza on the beach!!
7th July 2008

Engagement in Switzerland
Congratulations on your engagement! Switzerland has always held a special place in my heart, and now in yours as well. Wishing you much happiness - your Tampa - Newark seatmate, Betty
7th July 2008

Congrats
I am so happy for you! This is wonderful news. Congratulations. We are going to celebrate when you get home :-)
7th July 2008

Congradulations
Tarbasher!! I'm soo excited for you! Maybe if I stop losing my cell phone and all my numbers I wouldn't be so out of touch!! I'm such a Jerk, for not calling. I did however get everyones phone numbers from Dixon, so I'm back in the loop.. almost. I can't wait to meet Leslie! she must be something wonderful to put up with you. Just kidding, what a lucky Girl!!! I call you when your adventure is over. Have FUN!
7th July 2008

WOW!!!
Wow, Congrats!!!
8th July 2008

WOOO HOOOO
Hey guys, just got back to work fom the MI and I was taking a peek at your blog and JUST WHAT I SUSPECTED (Matt and I figured this was coming soon, thank god TB didn't pull a Tom Cruise and do it at the Eifel Tower (sp?)). CONGRATS A MILLION and I can't wait to see the ring and hear the story. PS, we're staying with Vin tonight, we also checked in on him yesterday and he's rockin' and rollin. I'll be sure to tell him his parents are gettin hitched!
11th July 2008

Congratulations you guys!!! I bet that thing was BURNING a hole in Tarbutton's pocket.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb