From Bern to Lausanne


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Lausanne
November 16th 2005
Published: November 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

House of ParlimentHouse of ParlimentHouse of Parliment

A night picture of Switzerland's House of Parliment.
Hello Reader.

For dinner the other night I went to a restaurant called Manora. My guidebook recommended this two floor buffet style restaurant. I went in, it was mostly self-explanitory, a kind local explained the pasta station. I collect all the ingridients myself, hand them to the pasta guy, and presto, my personalized pasta is prepared. I grabbed a bowl and piled it high, I handed the bowl to the guy. An uproar of laughter followed. He held up my bowl and shouted something in German to the salad bar attendant, who then started laughing, and then shouted something to the cashier, who then started laughing. It was all so funny, it seemed, to everyone but me. What had I done? I jumped over the counter and punched him in the mouth. Well, that is what I was thinking about doing as I laughed along with them. I guess I was supposed to separate my ingridients in to small bowls. That's what they were laughing at. My big bowl. ...Is that funny to anyone else? The pasta came out good, that's all that matters... jerks.

Later that night I went to have a drink with Daniela, Anja's flatmate. We
Anja and DanielaAnja and DanielaAnja and Daniela

My hosts in Bern overlooking the city.
ended up at an old school gymnasium, that had been converted into a two level bar (and club on the weekends). We talked over a Cuba Libre and a rum with hot water. We missed the last bus to the house, but a short walk and a good conversation was due anyways. Anja had already gone to bed by the time we got home and I didn't get a chance for a real goodbye. I left a note and some chocolate, and headed to Lausanne on the train the next morning.

My host in Lausanne had given me instructions on how to get to his house and where to get the key. It was trusting of him to allow me to drop off my stuff when he wasn't even at home. Looking for the key was like finding burried treasure, or just as exciting at least. I headed out on the town, with Ben Folds and Jason Mraz. I was looking for a museum called 'The Collection de l'Art Brut' that is home to thirty thousand pieces of art from marginalised people entrenched in the attitude of a rebellious spirit or impervious to collective norms and values. The artitsts
Child Eating OrgeChild Eating OrgeChild Eating Orge

Children beware! He comes when you are sleeping! In Bern, no one is safe.
include 'prisoners, inmates of psychiatric hospitals, eccentrics, loners, and misfits.' Some of the pieces are intriguing, some are beautiful, some are confusing, and some are downright disturbing. Definitely one of the most interesting museums I've seen.

I came home and met my host, Pascal, a Frenchman living and working in Lausanne. We headed to a function that was being put on by the institution at which he used to study. We met his friends who were nice and they mentioned going to a student bar which was having a game board night. Oh, those unfortunate souls; they, too, were in for a depressing night. We went to the bar, but didn't play. Lucky them. Pascal and I then took a night tour of the town. He showed me the gothic cathedral, a castle, and one of the two underground rivers still flowing under the city. We went to a restaurant and had wine and fondue. I think I love fondue. I know I love fondue. Fondue... just writing it is making my mouth water. The conversation flowed between us like we were old friends. I think couchsurfers are all on the same wavelength because I find them to be
Sunset in LausanneSunset in LausanneSunset in Lausanne

Orange and blue play backdrop to clouds rippled by the setting sun.
the most honest, trusting, inviting people. Pascal was no exception. He and I both regreted my only staying for one night in Lausanne.

I woke up the next morning and went to take pictures of all the things Pascal showed me the night before. Then it was Geneve by train in the afternoon, where Claude, another couch surfer, had said they could host me. Let me tell ya, couchsurfing.com is the only way to travel. I get to stay with locals of the city,who know all about it, and create lasting relationships with people everywhere. The only way to travel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Pascal at HomePascal at Home
Pascal at Home

My host in Lausanne checks his e-mail, probably looking for my travel blog update.
Gothic CathedralGothic Cathedral
Gothic Cathedral

A gothic-style cathedral, every night a man screams that he is the watcher and shouts the hours from the top. An old tradition started centuries ago because of possible fires.


17th November 2005

Anth-izzle
Anja looks very familiar to me hrmm... And Daniela looks like a rocker with attitude in that picture, expecially with those glasses lol ;) I've always dreamt of a child eating orge. yes! I new they had them...since the land lady won't let me have a dog...well..you know.. That's a cool sunset, looks like you had the nice wheather that we just did...yesterday was amazing! well..kind of cloudy, then it rained..then it cleared..then it rained...but the temperature was awsome :) windows down and all. At the gothic cathedral a man screams everynight, just like the man at the armory behind our place...I found out its a homeless man fighting over a ham sandwhich with another..I threw pencils at them and they left.
17th November 2005

"The Body Guard"
Just let me know who needs taking care of there.... even though you got a little static form the locals at the retuarant it sounds like an interesting place to eat... heads up, Chaz and I are planning to meet you where ever you are next summer.
18th November 2005

Where the Hell are you going?
Heya bud. I am heading out of Austria on the 19th. Going to Geneva...wondering if you will be around there then? I noticed you haven't been there yet. let me know. kay see ya lata. From your drunkard Alta in Linz. hahahehehe. byes.
21st November 2005

Sure.
What up E-Slice, didn't even know about this blog until today...the pics are great, and it looks like you're having a great time, but I wouldn't know that for sure because I haven't read more than 2 sentences you've written. Give me a friggin' break, I'm busy and you type a lot.
22nd November 2005

Boggle
It is too bad that there is a language barrier because I have one word for you, "BOGGLE!" Those poor people would not know what hit them if you broke out a game of Boggle and once again whooped some ass at a board game. Waves of love at ya babe- Briana

Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 18; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb