Sherrie's Birthday


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Interlaken
July 26th 2008
Published: July 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was the first day we woke up to a very light rain. Nothing too serious, however, it was cloudy and not a good day for Sherrie to go Paragliding. Instead, after breakfast, we went on a hike along the river which led to a waterfall. It was a nice walk, much less strengous then yesterday which suited Steph just fine. We saw beautiful landscape along the way - the river, meadows, huge rocks. Everyone told us about the great waterfall at the end. It was nice but it is quite obvious these people have never been to Niagara Falls. It was not exactly as Sherrie and I anticipated. But a great walk nonetheless. A girl from our hostel joined us this morning. She is an accountant in California and was quite nice. The walk was only a 3 hour journey so we were back here by lunch. This afternoon, I sent Sherrie off with the Californian couple to hike from Murren back down to Gimmelwald. They were renting equipment and you basically clip your way along ropes/cables all the way down. Sounds like a lot of fun. I chose to spend a quiet afternoon at the hostel. It was nice to have some time just to relax, read a book and do nothing! (Sherrie has now returned safely and assured me that I would not have enjoyed the experience. There is a reason I chose to stay here!)

The hostel we are staying at is great. It is very much like being at camp. We have calves outside our bedroom window, whose bells wake us up every morning. I stand corrected - I thought there were 14 beds in our room. Sherrie was right when she said there were 16. Luckily, the most we have had in there yet is 14. There is a shared kitchen, where everyone has baskets for dry food and also their fridge stuff. There is a washing machine and a drying room. We threw in a load today because we were not sure when we would have laundry so close again. The washroom is crowded. There are only 3 toilets and 3 showers with potentially 50 people. I have been here for 3 days already and I have just realized we have a black cat living here. Who knew!

Tomorrow our plans may alter a bit. I believe we are heading to Zurich for the night. Our train for Salzburg leaves Monday from Zurich at 9:40. If we head there tomorrow, it will save us the rush on Monday morning.

Steph


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Fun Fun!Fun Fun!
Fun Fun!

While Sherrie was walking across this, I was peacefully reading my book at the hostel.


31st July 2008

Happy or Scary Birthday??!!!!
uh ya.....I am up for adventure all the time...were you harnessed?? I'm freaking out just LOOKING at the pics!!! Good job Sherrie!!

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb