From Lucerne to Interlaken


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Interlaken
November 12th 2005
Published: November 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Thomas and DanielaThomas and DanielaThomas and Daniela

My hosts in Luzern, with Turbo (he's a little camera shy).
Hello Reader.

I would call it 'taking a zero.' Thursday was a day consumed by laziness. I didn't do too much, but enjoyed every bit of it. I woke up late and arranged some couchsurfing for the next week and a half. I headed to the cinema where Daniela works and she allowed me to use her pass to get upstairs to the Panarama depicting a war. The Bourbaki. It was a large round room with three hundred and sixty degrees of wall covered with a mural. It was supposed to make you feel like you were apart of the war. It was quite interesting. I then leisurely walked along the lake until I came upon a sinking swan, only after screaming 'NOOOOOOOOOO!' and jumping in to save it did I realize that it was just eating from the floor of the lake.

I got to the museum of transportation. It was enormous and expensive so I looked around the lobby and walked out. Back at home I finished up some writing and waited for my hosts. They ended up going out for the night and I watched Amorres Perros, an independent film. It was really, really good.
Suicidal SwanSuicidal SwanSuicidal Swan

Don't worry, he's just holding his breath... right?

The following day, Daniela and I had breakfast and headed out. We took a train about ten minutes to a glass factory near Luzern. I was moderately excited to go. But I completely underestimated the awesomeness that was the glass museum. I really had a lot of fun and I now want to be a glass worker. We had some hot chocolate then headed back to Luzern to pick up some stuff for the FONDUE!!! We got everything we needed then went to her cinema and watched Broken Flowers, which I had already seen, liked, and enjoyed again.

Thomas prepared the fondue that night, he used some sort of magical family technique or something that made me not want to stop eating. It was one of the best fondues I've ever had, a real treat. I had fallen asleep after such a good meal when Daniela waked me ever so softly, like maybe she was expecting a wild arm flailing from the American Bandstand era. They had invited me to go out to a punk concert, and I was actually looking forward to it... I am always up for expanding my musical horizions. But after such a dinner and
Glass MuseumGlass MuseumGlass Museum

No, no, no... it isn't MADE of glass...
such a comfortable couch, I just wasn't seeing it happening. They left and I took a shower and packed, which took about forty-five minutes. (the packing, not the shower.)

In the morning, I said a reluctant farewell to Daniela and headed to the train station, with a fifty pound pack on. I tried my hardest not to fall asleep on the two hour trip, maybe I did for a few minutes, but the view was spectacular. I made it to Interlaken and found my hostel, Balmers. There was a restaurant, a bar, a movie room, a club, a giant chess board outside, and FOOSBALL! I had come to the right place. Interlaken relies so much on tourism, the whole city is just one big billboard advertising skydiving, hang gliding, ice climbing, rafting, and the like. I considered spending the one hundred and sixty francs to paraglide, but I dunno, I just felt it would be so 'touristy' of me. Plus, that is a hell of a lot of francs - like a thousand dollars or something, just a guess, I didn't really work it out. We took to the streets, Me, Nelly Fertado, and Yellowcard, my latest favorites. It
Park in InterlakenPark in InterlakenPark in Interlaken

It was a sunny, cool day, and the lakes were nice and wet.
was a nice walk in a city surrounded by super tall mountains and two lakes the color of clear hazel eyes.

Tomorrow I head to Bern for two days, then Montreux for a night, then to the other side of lake Geneve... to Geneve. I will be couchsurfing in all four cities and I have someone in Lyon, France who says I can stay with him after my tour through Switzerland. I am keeping an eye on all my stuff, and keeping healthy by eating... whatever I can find in the trash... or at the hostel, whichever is better.

Advertisement



12th November 2005

swan!!
Aww poor swan!!.. I too have seen these suicidal swans in Luzern!!! haha.. love you.. when u go to bern..make sure you see the bears!! bye bye
12th November 2005

My Brother!
Eli, how sweet! I love the pics. I can only imagine how happy your parents are that they get to see whats going on out there, especially with all the money you are gonna spend! haha. Thanks for keeping up with your blog. I like knowing where you are, and it feels like you aren't too far from me! So I was going to make you another cd, but I'm not sure where to send it? Any suggestions with where you are going to be in the future? Love ya babe, Jenny B.
12th November 2005

Still in Zurich?
Eli.. you still in Zurich? I have a friend there you should meet. Anatina.. very cool. Stop by Neuchatel on your way to Geneva.
12th November 2005

Doesn't take much to get addicted
First you realize how much you actually enjoy something but you are in denial to the addiction until you can't have it. Then you have to admit it. I AM ADDICTED to your blogs, so be sure to keep up the great work or you will be responsible for the bad things that might happen. Seems like there is a bunch of people just like me. Everywhere we go we talk about Eli's latest adventure. Last night we were sending Katrin off to San Francisco (someone will have to keep an eye on Vitaly!) with a big bash at RiRa and it seemed like you were there yourself the way people talked about you. What a life!!! C YA
12th November 2005

looks chilly :o
without the jalepenos...you know the cold kind. err.. Well yay europe still looks are gorgeous as ever. AJ said she would go travel with me after we graduate for some time :) I am seriously considering it. The swan was planning that, he just doens't like americans and wanted you to jump in the fridged waters. *shakes fist* I had a pidgeon almost fly right into my head by school, I had to duck down =/ Be careful in France! There are lots of riot happening right now... Nothing new here really, going home for turkey day and I was in the presence of a HUGE gang fight @ the mall last night, that being 1 of 3 locations it happened at, at the same time...fun... Good thing I had my machetti straped to my leg, I was fending people off! whew... Kepp in touch bud
12th November 2005

the mountains look beautiful...
13th November 2005

Monika is right...
Hey, just wanted to say hi. Monika is right, as soon as I came back from Germany and walked into work, everyone was talking about you and what you wree doing, etc. EVERYONE and their Mama wanted to be added to your list, and everyone knows what you are up to. Well, I just got to San Fran, first day of work tomorrow. Will see Vitaly no later than Tuesday and then apartment hunt!!!! All the best, keep in touch! Katrin
14th November 2005

nelly
Nelly Furtado is the best! And I'm glad you liked "Amores Perros", isn't it messed up?
15th November 2005

journey
Sound like, looks like, feels like the trip of a lifetime. Coooooool

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb