Swiss Alps


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Interlaken
November 16th 2006
Published: November 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Swiss AlpsSwiss AlpsSwiss Alps

Ah the glaciers and sun poking through
On the train from Munich we first travelled towards Stuttgart and passed the stadium where Australia played that amazing game against Croatia in the World Cup, and as we passed I tried to suck in a bit of that atmosphere that I am sure still surrounds this stadium, talking to many Aussies that were there that night!

Onwards towards Zurich, where I got on another train to Lucerne. I had 2 choices from Zurich of either going to Lucerne and onwards to Interlaken or to Bern and onwards. But having travelled the Lucerne leg last year with Contiki and it being one of the most pretty scenic drives I have ever encountered I thought that would be the way to go. And what a decision!!!

Lucerne is a beautiful town and I dind't get to explore it this time, but I was eager for the journey to Interlaken. Once we passed Mount Pilatus many of the roads lined the train track and I realised it was the same road we had driven, it was largely about the same time and we had seen some remarkable views as the sun began to set. I thought it would be hard to
SunsetSunsetSunset

One of the most amazing sunsets I have ever seen! Photo really doesn't show how good it was!
top, however this time around, if it was possible the view was even better!!!!

The sun was setting against the backdrop of the Swiss Alps, and I struggle to remember a better sunset!!! I do love sunsets, but this one took the cake! My photos don't nearly enough show how remarkable it was, but as the blue turned we saw a mixture of orange and pinks for at least 45 minutes, that almost covered the sky, all this against the white of the snow capped mountains that literally surround every corner!!! Amazing!!! When my heart wasn't pumping with excitement and trying to look in every direction, then I am pretty sure I shed a tear!

I could go on for ages about this, and probably will when I see you. I apologise to Contiki kids, this one was better than our last sunset, which was the infamous ''greatest day'' saying.

Getting into Interlaken as night fell, I made my way to a hostel near the main street. From here I wandered around the town taking in this famous town for adrenaline sports. It lies between two lakes, Thun and Brienz, and acts as the gateway to the
Swiss AlpsSwiss AlpsSwiss Alps

Me with Jungfrauch Mountain behind me
Jungfrau mountain range. Switzerland also has a high standard of living and everything is rather expensive. Everyone knows they are well-known for watches and that, but its amazing how much they love to tell the time, every second shop seemed to sell watches or in the case clocks! After a wander I stopped in at a bar for a drink with a couple of locals before heading off.

I was up and at 'em again early for a train to the 'Top of Europe' and to Jungfraujoch, which was a possiblity last year on Contiki, but I didn't get there last year, instead deciding to sky-dive over the Swiss Alps instead ... just normal day living!!! In fact I was considering not going up to Jungfrau at all and instead doing some Ice climbing, but all the adrenaline sports were in the off-season and the only remaining sport going on was parapenting, which I had already done. So it was off on the train to Jungfrau.

The train was supposed to go to Lauterbrunnen first, but instead went to Grindlewald (more on this later). As we turned the corner from Interlaken towards the Alps, the area of Interlaken was largely covered in low mist or fog, at the turn of the corner this all cleared away and a bright blue sky and clean looking mountain range stood before us. In fact, speaking to the locals the night before, apparantly the week before it had been raining each day and fairly gloomy and that if it was like that again it would be no use going up the mountain. Fortunately it had basically stopped the day before I arrived and gave some of the most awesome scenery a look that I couldn't even describe!

Grindlewald was the first stop and all the way along it looked amazing. The town of Grindlewald was clean and sitting right in amidst these towering white topped mountains. I could have stayed there alone all day. We then moved onwards up the mountain to another stop, each spot seemed to offer photo opportunities that couldn't be rivalled.

From here the next train then became more modernised and we basically went through the mountain. Just less than 100 years ago, this railway was built and they had to carve right through the mountains, it is the highest point you can reach on railway
Swiss AlpsSwiss AlpsSwiss Alps

Stopping off at Eiger on way to Jungfrauch
in Europe. We had 2 stops along the way for more wonderful scenery. Before reaching the final stop at Jungfraujoch. I first headed for the outside and to go play in the snow!

Again whatever I write here will not nearly enough show the amazing views and great feeling you get up there. I was interested to see how many Japanese were up there, there were thousands and many in business suits, which I had a chuckle about. But just the panaroma views and grandness of it all leaves you spellbound.

From here I went back inside to the Ice Palace, which is a walk-through with all things made from ice, its laughable watching people slip and slide and fall on their way through. After this I headed off to the Sphinx which offers the highest point for views and gives some interesting information. I stayed here a while and soaked it up. I wandered some more around the precinct before again going back outside for more soaking up time, which I thought was great when I put on my ipod with some uplifting songs to get me in the mood!!!!

Its a great place and with
LauterbrunnenLauterbrunnenLauterbrunnen

I am back again!!!!
Jungfraujoch at 4158m in height right beside you and this long stretch of snow with glacier forms ahead of you, and then behind you views of mountain ranges and towns far below stretching all the way to Germany and Italy, you can't help but be mesmerised by it all. I love Switzerland!

Back on the train, I dozed for a bit before being awoken by a sudden ray of sunshine. Moving onwards two people were jogging down the hill, I thought to myself one of them looked familiar and I put a famous person's name to that thought. After seeing who she was running with I realised my hunch was correct ... running down the hill beside the train was none other than the Swiss Miss herself ... Martina Hingis, she was running with her boyfriend Radek Stepanek. I thought they were training but as we stopped further down they quickly caught up and jumped on the train before it pulled away. It seems they missed the train higher up and were racing down to catch it.

As I got off at Lauterbrunnen station I could see the 2 just ahead of me, as they headed to their car parked at the Lauterbrunnen car park, I thought to myself (what I think everyone has thought at one point or another!) ... ''Damn you Radek Stepanek! Damn You!'' There was the Swiss Miss herself in the beautiful Swiss Alps with this ugly, ugly man!!!

Anyway, Lauterbrunnen is where we stayed on Contiki and once more I loved seeing a place I loved previously. Walking back along the main road I got shivers seeing all the same sites of this little town. There was the bar we drank at after our sky dive and at night time, there was the church by the river .. it all looked like nothing had changed! As I walked towards the camp-site we stayed at, it is down a back street and I was the only one walking along, I saw a car drive by me slowly and thought to say to them ''Don't worry I know where I am going - I know this place!'' ... but realised I would have seemed daft!

Made my way across the bridge ... the same bridge Missy Higgins is sitting on in one of her film clips ... and to where the camp site
SwitzerlandSwitzerlandSwitzerland

Sky coming in
is. Nobody there!!! So different to when we were there, but I found our room and peered through, it all looked the same ... which made me feel better. I then walked along the river to the hangar where we left on our chopper to sky dive at 15000 feet, the same helicopter was being used to carry building materials up the mountain and I felt pride in the fact our helicopter was there and being used at the time I was there again.

I then headed back to the bar we drank at, for some of those infamous fruit flavoured beers. Passionfruit! I got chatting to an English couple in their 40s and the bar staff, it was fun as I told them about my experience there last year, and the staff were pleased I came back. The English couple were pretty nice and we drank away the rest of the evening, before I told them I had to catch the last train back to Interlaken which was leaving in 5 minutes. They told me they could now tell I was an Aussie ... as to having no worries about getting a train in 5 minutes, with a
GrindlewaldGrindlewaldGrindlewald

Beautiful town
5 minute walk to the station. Alas I got on the train just as the doors were closing and headed back to Interlaken.

With no sports to get involved with and the added cost of staying in Switzerland, I prised myself away from this country and spot. I was worried that going back a second time that it wouldn't be as good .. but if anything I love it even more!! I wish it was cheaper and I could stay longer, but after a morning walk around Interlaken, through the gardens and along their blue green lake, I then got a train to Bern and onwards to Geneva. The views along Lake Geneva (the laregest lake in Europe) were sensational, with the French Alps lining it. I got out for a walk around Geneva, seeing where the UN headquarters are and their famous Jet d'eau, before getting a train to France and to Lyon!






Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

GrindlewaldGrindlewald
Grindlewald

Beautiful town
SwitzerlandSwitzerland
Switzerland

Sky coming in
JungfraujochJungfraujoch
Jungfraujoch

In the Ice Palace
JungfraujochJungfraujoch
Jungfraujoch

Top of Europe
JungfraujochJungfraujoch
Jungfraujoch

Amazing views
JungfraujochJungfraujoch
Jungfraujoch

Amazing views
LauterbrunnenLauterbrunnen
Lauterbrunnen

The waterfall
BridgeBridge
Bridge

Bridge in Lauterbrunnen .. remember to spin!
Swiss AlpsSwiss Alps
Swiss Alps

Sphinx up top and then the viewing house
Jet d'EauJet d'Eau
Jet d'Eau

In Geneva


28th November 2006

it looks amazing!!!
Dan, I have been keeping up with your posts like a religion, wow I am once again captured by the beauty of both Austria and Switzerand. . the mountains, the snow, the cow bells, the people .....and the bridge lol I miss that place...Keep on traveling bud, can't wait to hear more about your travels! I am out west in late dec- to early jan incase your out our way ! cheers talia
17th November 2008

wow
Really great pictures :)

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 7; ; mem: 1.1mb