Lyon


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Lyon
November 17th 2006
Published: November 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lyon StreetsLyon StreetsLyon Streets

Beaujolais, Beajolais
After leaving Geneva I was headed for Lyon, where I met a friend I met in Ireland on my Paddywagon tour, Sara (from Melbourne) and her cousin.

The girls are there studying, and we headed back to the flat they are staying at, which is very impressive. After they saw a few photos of me from last year's travels I was told I looked far younger then than now! Thanks!!!! But perhaps this travelling has aged me! After a while we headed out to where the girls recommended, and after walking around for a while taking in the growing atmosphere, there was a big band playing new age songs, which was pretty cool, along the narrow cobbled streets of Lyon.

With Lyon the gastronomical capital of France, we were spoilt for choice with the number of restaurants and quality. We decided on this nice little restaurant and scrolling through the menu was interesting to say the least. A sumptuous 3 course meal was delivered (after the girls ordered for me) and trying some pig's tongue (with hair still on it) and not really knowing what I was eating, was quite something, as we washed it all down with some local wine ... as you do! After being forced into ordering the dessert for everyone (in French ... and pretty good French I might add! .. the girls were impressed) we ate away to fill up our stomachs, I had the chocolat de chaud.

We then wandered outside the find the streets full of young people. It was the first day of the Nouveau Beaujolais, and this means its a party atmosphere where everyone stands around trying to new Beaujolais wine that is supposed to be at its peak and all from guys selling it on the streets for 1 Euro. It was a great atmosphere and when they started chanting ''Beaujolais'' I think my Running With the Bulls experience kicked in, as I was just waiting for the wine to be thrown around everyone and all over me ... thank goodness it didn't! But the cars were being rocked and everyone was crammed in! Great to just happen to be there at this time and crash in on this time honoured tradition.

We were well up and going before we went down to a bar and continued on through the night, for some good fun times, before I am pretty sure Sara lost her way and we arrived back around about 4 o'clock in the morning.

The next morning, a little worse for wear, we headed off to the wet Lyon main city. We went up to the church on the hill, which gave a great view of the city, this church is weird as its new and unlike many European churches. It has cows heads in it and an array of signs and symbols, as apparantly its meant to be for all religions. Then we went down the furnicular, to the main square before some croissants in a cafe along the shopping stretch.

Then I was off once more and this time on the TGV fast train to Paris!






Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Jet d'EauJet d'Eau
Jet d'Eau

Geneva


29th November 2006

As if i lost my way!!!
Dont be silly! ha! hope u had a good bday! xo

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb