In Like a Lyon and Out Like a Leysin!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva » La Plaine
May 12th 2012
Published: May 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well, time has continued to fly by. May is almost half over. The first weekend that my mom was here, we did a lot of driving. Saturday, May 5th, we drove to Lyon, France. We didn't spend a lot of time in Lyon, but we really liked what we saw. Plus, after lunch, it started raining cats and dogs, so it was good that we didn't spend too much time there. Myles was soaking wet as he had to go and stomp in every single puddle. Oh well, at least he had fun.

In Lyon, we mostly did some walking around. We walked/hiked up to Notre Dame de Fourvière Church. This was a beautiful church with a wonderful view over the city of Lyon. The next day, we drove to Leysin. Our church was having a retreat there for the weekend and we drove up for the service on Sunday. It was a one and a half hour drive, but it was right up in the Alps, so it was beautiful.

My dad then arrived May 7th, stayed for a couple of days and then they went to Croatia for a bus tour. They will be back Thursday of
The remnants of an old hospital.The remnants of an old hospital.The remnants of an old hospital.

This tower was left after a hospital was demolished in 1934. We hiked up the hill in the background. Notre Dame de Fourvière was at the top of the hill. It reminded us a little of the Sacré Coeur in Paris.
this week and it should be good to hear about their adventure.

Today, Isabelle and I went out on the town. We picked up a mother's day gift for Avery and then we went to a play that one of my students was involved in. The title of the play was, "La révolte des couleurs." It was a great play and I think that I will pick up the book to read to my students. It has a wonderful message in the book about the importance of all people.

As Isabelle and I were getting Avery's mother's day gift, we had to drive to downtown Geneva to the Manor store. This was not a problem. The problem was the underground parking. The spaces in this parking lot were tight. There was not very much room to move around. I cringe to even think about an Alberta pickup truck driving through the parkade. It will be nice to be back home with more space. I have definitely identified with the Dixie Chicks song, "Wide Open Spaces."

Also, Isabelle ruined Avery's mother's day gift surprise. When we got home, Isabelle said, "Mom, we got you a watch and don't
Hospital explanation.Hospital explanation.Hospital explanation.

This plaque explains that the hospital was built in the 1600s and then demolished in 1934.
even tell me about surprises." So much for keeping a secret!

Jarod


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Lunch in Lyon.Lunch in Lyon.
Lunch in Lyon.

I had to take this picture because this is probably the only time that Isabelle ordered something from a menu and actually ate it. She was eating it like a starving man on a Christmas ham!


13th May 2012

Cute story!
Hi Friends- Guess what happened? My knee surgery was cancelled 6 days before I went in-I will have surgery now in September. That means I will not work until jan. 2013. Geoff ad I are going on bus tour of Hungary and Croatia in August. Please let me know what your parents thought about Croatia. Enjoy your end of year! Debbie B
13th May 2012

Cute story!
Hi Friends- Guess what happened? My knee surgery was cancelled 6 days before I went in-I will have surgery now in September. That means I will not work until jan. 2013. Geoff ad I are going on bus tour of Hungary and Croatia in August. Please let me know what your parents thought about Croatia. Enjoy your end of year! Debbie B

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb