Snow Day!!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Engelberg
May 26th 2009
Published: May 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone!

So who can say that they were playing in the snow for about 7 hours today? I can! We went to Mount Titlis which has an elevation at 10,000 ft. First we got a little background on the company from the marketing director, Peter. Next, we headed to the cable cars. Mount Titlis is famous for being the first resort to ever have a rotating cable car. First you get in a small 6 seat cable car that takes you through two points. Then you hop onto a bigger box car and head up until you get to the rotating cable car which takes you all the way up to the top and apparently hold 80 people. Thank God there weren't that many people on our car!

The only negative thing about today for me was that I experienced some “altitude sickness”. I just started feeling nauseous and couldn’t catch my breath. But the rest of the day was fun! We climbed up the snow to get an indescribable view of the Alps. I slid down a hill on my butt which made for cold jeans for the rest of the day. We ate lunch at the Panorama restaurant and as the name implies we had a Panorama view of the Alps. Lunch was pasta which was brought out on huge trays with enough room for a big bowl of noodles and three types of sauces. When I can I will upload pictures so you can see what I’m talking about.

We rode the Ice Flyer which gave us a view of the glaciers. A guy who worked for Mount Titlis rode with my group and told us that the dirty look to the snow was from the Sahara Desert. Apparently, the weather the last view days blew sand from the Sahara and tainted the snow. At Glacier Park, I got to tube down a snow tunnel and then ride the “magic carpet” on the way up. Unfortunately there was a big storm coming in so I didn’t get to spend as much time as I wanted to at the Park. The last thing we did was go into the Glacier Cave. It was pretty cool with all these flashing lights.

I’m back in Engelberg now and about to try to find some hot chocolate before I take a hot bath. Tomorrow is a free day and please cross your fingers that I get to go paragliding because the morning weather is supposed to be bad but there’s a chance that I’ll get to go in the afternoon!


Advertisement



27th May 2009

Cool!
Hi Stephanie, Sounds like you're having a great experience. I wish I could have played in the snow with you. I can't wait to see your pictures. You are in my thoughts and prayers, and as always, I'm so excited for and proud of you! <3 Leslie Reid

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb