Free Day Blog


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Engelberg
May 27th 2009
Published: May 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So today was a free day for us. It seems like I’m fighting a little bit of a cold right now. Or maybe it’s just allergies.

I had planned on trying to go paragliding today, but the weather was too bad to go. So we went to Plan B. One of the hotels in Engelberg had a very nice Spa and Arabella helped set up appointments for me, Stefanie, Janet, and Jamie.

We decided to meet at 1:15 to walk up together even though all of our appointments were at different times. Until then Stef and I walked around Engelberg. She wanted to get an angel figurine for her sister. We ate at this little Café and I tried Lindon Berry tea. It was interesting because they put the plant, crushed up, into a little strainer and dunk it in hot water. I also had a great ham and cheese sandwich.

The four of us plus Ms .Bradley, our teacher, walked up to the hotel. Ms. Bradley was showing us the way that she had come down the night before. We were all ready for our treatments after the hike. While I waited for mine, Stef and I waited outside in the sun and I finished Angels and Demons.

Finally, it was my turn. First I had a partial massage and the masseuse focused on my back. It was very relaxing except for the fact that I couldn’t breathe out of my nose. Next, I chose to have a Wild Rose bath. It was heavenly!

For dinner we had originally planned on having a BBQ but it got cancelled due to the weather the night before. Instead Arabella found a restaurant in Engelberg that served traditional Swiss food. Everyone seemed to order something different. I chose a veal bratwurst with Rosti which is kind of like a hash brown only not as crisp.

I’m definitely going to miss Engelberg! It’s a fantastic place to relax and enjoy the Swiss Alps. But tomorrow it’s off to France!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb