Day 14: Journey to Lucerne (Apr 2017)


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Lucerne
April 26th 2017
Published: August 6th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday, 26th April 2017

Ok, so here I am spending my final 3 nights of vacation in Lucerne before flying home on Saturday morning.

After breakfast this morning, I decided to wander around Interlaken for the last time before catching my afternoon train. Basically, Interlaken is a town built on a linear fashion bounded by the East and West Stations. There were a few local buses that I could hop on and off with the transport card provided by the hotel. I took an early lunch too - Swiss Rosti at one of the recommended restaurants which tasted awful.

The Luzern-Interlaken Express train that I boarded in the afternoon was spacious and comfortable. The crowds were thin and at some point, I had the whole train car to myself.

I arrived at Lucerne Station at around 3+ in the afternoon which I proceeded to check-in at my hotel by the Chapel Bridge. I was given a rather spacious room that came with complimentary breakfast in the morning.

As the sky was overcast when I arrived, I couldn't make out the Pilatus Range from where I was standing. The town centre is rather compact so I made a DIY walking tour to take in the sites including the Lion Monument.

Lucerne is overwhelmed by mainland tourists in the day as they congregated around the train station and the main shopping piazzas. By late evening, this is a different story as bus loads of tourists leave the city after finishing their shopping spree. This is the time when I finally found some peaceful moments by the beautiful lake.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0741s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb