Day 13: Jungfraujoch (Apr 2017)


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Interlaken
April 25th 2017
Published: July 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday, 25th April 2017

Jungfraujoch (3454m) or Top of Europe remained one of the must-visit sites for tourists coming to Switzerland.

Early into the journey, I've decided NOT to pursue all the way to the summit. Hefty fees aside, the skies were overcast with dark clouds and storm looming this morning. The weatherman had made an accurate prediction. I was worried about altitude sickness too, since I did not know how well my body would react if I reached the top. Besides, there were hoards of tourists trying to make their way up in such a bad weather condition. I thought I should just take a step back and admire the Jungfraujoch from where I stood.

Anyway, I started my ascend from Interlaken Ost (567m) for my journey to Lauterbrunnen (796m). From there, I made a final push to Kleine Scheidegg (2061m). Visitors should then decide if they would like to continue their final approach to the top via the special Jungfrau carriages.

I probably took enough pictures of trains, mountains and valleys to last a lifetime. The view from where I stood overlooking the mountain ranges was just as amazing as it could be.

By noon, I had finished documenting the pictures and I managed to squeeze in a quick visit to Lake Brien followed by an afternoon swim back at the hotel.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb