28.09.2009 You've got to be spontaneous


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-East » Zürich
September 28th 2009
Published: December 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

28.09.2009 You've got to be spontaneous



I spontaneously booked a trip to Bahrain, an island in the Middle East. By spontaneous I mean coming home on Saturday night, looking up flights and writing to my friend Saad, who was my next door neighbour during our studies in Newcastle. I wrote the following e-mail to him "It's probably just a stupid idea and I'm probably not going to come but just in case I wake up tomorrow morning and feel like packing my bags... what are your plans next week?" He replied that he would have time, that I should book my flight and let him know when I'll arrive. We spent Sunday e-mailing each other and finding the proper flight for me, which I booked on Sunday evening to be leaving on Monday night.

So here I was at the airport only 24 hours after booking. I was in queue forever and when it was finally my turn the lady at the check in had to call someone to give me a seat. I asked if the flight was overbooked and she said yes. They were already calling people and trying to put them on other flights. I already saw myself spending half the night at the airport or being sent home but I was lucky and made it on the flight I booked.

When she weighed my back pack I wasn't sure if the screen on the right showed my weight or the one of the person at the counter next to me. So I asked the lady if that was my weight. She said yes. 13.4 kg. Cool, I've never travelled that light. And that although my back pack was filled with lots of yummy Swiss Chocolate. A content smile showed up on my face. The lady smiled back and said that it was actually the weight of my back pack not mine. I just grinned back at her and said "damn it, I knew that can't be right".

At first I felt a bit unsure about this trip but when I got on the plane my spirit was high and I was in a good mood.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0715s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb