Tirano, Italy to Appenzell, Switzerland


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-East » Appenzell
September 16th 2013
Published: September 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Bernina ExpressBernina ExpressBernina Express

This time I sat in the front, so this is the tail of the train as we spiral up from Italy into Switzerland.
I was so tired that I slept 12 hours Saturday night! I was ready for a long day of train travel from Italy into the northeast corner of Switzerland. Lori served yogurt and a local type of fruitcake for breakfast, and then she gave me a ride to the station (it was sprinkling a little). On my trip yesterday, I rode a panoramic train from Chur to Tirano, but as I returned I booked a regular Swiss train that runs on the same tracks. It was an overcast day, and many of the mountain tops were in the clouds. It gave a totally different look to the scenes I saw yesterday in the sunlight. The last six cars of the train were packed with tour groups who had reserved an entire car. I had the front 6 cars almost to myself, so I was able to move from one side to the other when the scenery demanded it. There were several train changes on the 7 hour trip, and I managed to make them! After the first 4 hours, we were out of the really scenic area, so I pulled out my Netbook and worked on this blog. It's impossible to
Miralago LakeMiralago LakeMiralago Lake

This lake is well named. Even in the clouds, you can see the mirror image of the mountain in the lake.
describe the scenes in the Alps. I have always had an attachment to nature, and I'm drawn to places that showcase things in nature. I think I have learned some things about myself on this trip. I enjoy going to places where I've never been, but the places that really speak to me are not the man-made sites or even the remains of ancient civilizations. I love seeing the things that come from the earth...landforms, flora, and fauna. One of my favorite quotes is paraphrased like this, Life is not the number of breaths you take, but the experiences that take your breath away. The things I've seen the past two days have certainly taken my breath away!Even though the day was filled with riding trains, and that's not too exciting to blog readers, I want to tell you what simple pleasures I've had. Every train change is kind of like that television show where couples are racing around the globe trying to reach clues ahead of everyone else. I never know what challenges I'll find when I hurriedly change from one train to another. One time on this whole trip, I only had to get off one train and
The AlpsThe AlpsThe Alps

The ceiling was very low, and it gave a very eerie look to the landscape.
walk 5 feet to get on the next one. Today wasn't that easy. I am carrying a small backpack, and I'm pulling or carrying a suitcase that currently ways about 50 pounds. At my first change, I had to go down stairs, banging my suitcase down each step, roll through a tunnel, and up a flight of stairs. A really nice young guy carried my suitcase up the stairs. “Danke” When I got up there, the train I thought I was supposed to get on said St. Moritz, but I thought it should say Pontresina. I got on (3 steps up) and then decided I should find someone to ask. I got back off, walked a ways to find an employee, was told it was the right train, and reboarded (3 steps up again). The next 2 changes were similar, but without the young guy carrying my suitcase up the stairs. The 4th change included going down into a tunnel, up the other side, out through the station, and across the street to a different station! These moves are usually accompanied with at least one time of asking, “Do you speak English?” The person usually answers with, “A little”, although it's nearly always decent English. I would still be standing there if I hadn't gotten some good direction, because my ticket certainly didn't explain that I had to find a different station! Back to my “simple pleasures”...actually figuring out where to be and not missing a train yet! I finally arrived in a small Alpine farming community called Appenzell, Switzerland. I found my hotel, which was surprisingly close to the train station. The best thing was that the owner carried my suitcase up the stairs to the second floor! It was a decent little place. I had a rather barren room with a sink and a TV, but no internet. There was a bathroom right next door, and it appeared there were three rooms sharing it. However, I think only one of the rooms was occupied. I got a village map and went looking for food. I hadn't eaten since breakfast. Well, it was Sunday, and Appenzell takes Sunday off. Only a few restaurants are allowed to stay open on Sunday, so I went to one that advertised “typical Alpen style”. I ordered the local dishes, and got a plate of food that looked like maybe my mom had made
Avalanche CannonsAvalanche CannonsAvalanche Cannons

I'm guessing that these are the air cannons they shoot off so the sound waves will start an avalanche when the slopes are cleared of skiers. Let me know if you have a different idea.
it. They had a wild name for it, but I would describe it as Salisbury steak with gravy, boiled potatoes, and green beans. It was better than it looked, and I was hungry! The stores weren't open, but I was able to window shop and check out the interesting buildings. Tomorrow, I'll do a little shopping, tour the cultural museum, and take pictures. I was hoping that one of the farmers would be bringing the livestock down from the Alpine meadows to their home land. When they do that, they dress in traditional clothes and parade the livestock through town while yodeling and playing rhythms to the music of the cowbells. I saw a sign that announced two families who will be doing this on Tuesday, when I'm flying home. Oh well, I've seen so much, I won't let this be a disappointment. The day ended with more CNN International before falling asleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

$5 cup of tea$5 cup of tea
$5 cup of tea

Switzerland is crazy expensive! This was about 5 or 6 ounces of hot water and one teabag!


Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb