ABBA,Volvo, Ikea - Goodbye


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
November 6th 2009
Published: November 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

03:00 Ontario time 20:00 Ghana time 21:00 Stockholm time 22:00 Helsinki time

I am at a level on this ferry that is surely below the waterline. I did notice the trailer trucks parked right outside the door in the hallway to my cabin -2077- At this moment my bunk is shuddering, vibrating and I can hear the engines working.

Being on Level 2 , I am thinking there is only one number left on the way down the scale ... i.e. 1 ... that must be where the engines are. I am under the cars ... Level 3 has a C beside the number C=car in my lexicon.

The ship is full of drinking, shouting, eating, gambling, karaokeing, shopping, crying,dancing, working, conferencing and steering people;

Men women children tens twenty somethings fat skinny paunchy pregnant neat messy dressed and undressed (in the jacussi and in some cabins that have left the door open). And the security guard at the entrance said that the Cinderella was a party ship ...it also stood at anchor in Stockholm and it also belongs to the Viking Line.

The name of my ship begins with M ...Mariella ...that's close! ... 131 euros for a cabin alone with toilet and shower down the hall ... WHAT was I thinking?

The shower was not bad ... it does not run steady ... the knob has to be pushed and the water runs for a certain time ... 40sec?

Entrance to the cabin is by smart card ... better not to be left behind on a night time toilet run ... will be stranded with only an extra long t-shirt as covering.

Had a meal of pasta, some kind of dry brown meat, wild mushrooms and delicious sauce. The coffe was so weak I could see thru it. Was forced to order as glass of wine. Mentioned to the waitress the impossibility of the coffee.
"That's Swedish coffee. We have Nescafe to put into it to make it stronger", she said.

"Will the coffee be the same in the morning?"

Smiling she said,"We are using the same machine."

"Well this coffee is impossible todrink", I said again.

"I will take it off."

"Thank you very much." Mission accomplished. No way was I paying for coffee that was weaker than if I ran water thru my coffee
 Women Transporters Women Transporters Women Transporters

Woman were the first to move people ... with boats ... in Stockholm.(old photo in museum)
machine morning grounds a second time!

Did I mention I am comfy cozy in my bunk?

It is nice to be alone in the space. The Swiss Princesses came in after four in the morning. I knew they had gone out on the town because when i came into the room at 23:00 I could smell the comingled perfume.

Had a bit of a panic this morning ...could not find my e-ticket for the train to St.P.B. Baltic Tours brought up only some address in Latvia ...probably the home office. Had to systematically go thru everything. Found Tony's Toronto number. BUT could not skype him until at least three. Leaving out all the minutae of my panic and search and wait let me say that the waiter in the conference section of this ship has let me print out the e-ticket that Gerhart and Zofia sent me from the Toronto office. END of PANIC.

Went down to breakfast to find all the platters bare...and no coffee. Took out my own food and ate as much as I could. Left the rest in the fridge. Someone will use it.

The people working at the Restiernas Hotel
Streetcar MuseumStreetcar MuseumStreetcar Museum

Horse and wagon were used as public transport.
work one at a time, and then do it all ... change sheets, wash the towels, lay out the breakfast, empty the garbage pails, wash the dishes, sit at reception, clean the toilets, and make more coffee.

I did see rubber gloves on the girl when she had to put out mor food. One morning the squeeze tubes of kaviar, mayo, or fish paste were lying on top of the sliced cheese. On a scale of one to ten for cleanliness I would have to give a 3 maybe a 4 on a good day.

The floor in the little eating area is sticky. The washed dishes rest on a metal rack above the garbage pails. The floor area around the washer and dryer is littered with dust mites and hair. Its enough toput me off breakfast. Was happy to eat my own stuff on dishes I rewashed before using.

But even saying all that I would stay here again. The location is so good and all the people so friendly and helpful. Although I was helpful too especially when the dryer was falling down off the washer. Had to help the girl put the
Old BusesOld BusesOld Buses

Love the shape of these old vehicles.
washer back into position and then right the dryer.

Last day in Stockholm ... 😞

1.Trip to postal outlet. Have now sent chocolates, junk and other things. The man has a lovely black Springer Spaniel ...with a tail. The dog also has a little brown on his feet, face and ears. Once he saw the treats in my hand he did his sit downs even though I said it in English.

2.Back to Renstiernas to pack up. The princesses are awake. Lots of paper is trashed. All it will do is sit in a box labeled "Norway to Russia.2009".

3.Look for e-ticket and PANIC when it is not found .... but you have already read the solution to number.

4. Walk to the Viking Line Quai. Stow my pack in a locker for 25SEK.

5.Go in search of the Transport Museum. Stumble upon Lansgot, a site from the 1630 where water was separated from tar to make pitch. The tar pit was replaced by sea port.
The sailors and workers lived in the area. The houses that the labpourers lived in deteriorated to the point of nothingness. The site did reveal archeological finds
In the Children's MuseumIn the Children's MuseumIn the Children's Museum

A small shop ... always a favourite.
and in 1956 new houses were built and the little area survives. This was a very unexpected and welcome find.

6.Continued, following the map and finally arrived at the museum only to discover that a toy museum is attached to the Transport Museum. A bus driver had told me about the place. It is well worth visiting. The TTC planners should have a look at how advanced the transport system of Stockholm was way back in the 1920's and 30's. With my seven day pass I was able to travel on the bus, the tram, the subway and the ferry in all directions without getting lost. Standing in one spot for 3 min. A total of seven buses, four subway trains and a ferry crossed my line of vision.

7. Both museums are extremely kid friendly. There was abunch of kids there having a great time on the little train that goes thru the museum partly 'underground'. The toy museumis very 'boy' oriented. Lots of cars, soldiers,tanks,boats, models, and toy train display.

8.Had a GOOD coffee in the rest area. Ate the pastries received from the chocolate place yesterday.

9.Headed towards the ferry and was astonished how close the museums were. Seeing it from the
museum angle it was easer to see the underpasses and the the stairs and tunnels that made the return so so much shorter. A quick walk thru the park and down the stairs and I wasat the entrance of Viking Lines ... and so were a lot of other people.

Boarding was at 15:40. Every one was ready to go. Some people ...probably first class or Conference attendees were able to get on by showing their card. My card did not let me on early. Once on the decent began and seemed to be endless.

Its really not too bad .. only for one night ... and all I will do is sleep that's still $195.50 ... under the car deck ... am going to look at how much I did not pay.

Anyway ... am comfy ... there are only a few party types out in the hall ... they must be going somewhere for the weekend ... my door is locked and 08:00 will come soon enough.

The night went well. Breakfast Buffet was sufficient. Do not need to ever eat an english breakfast again.
Getting to the FerryGetting to the FerryGetting to the Ferry

Goodbye Stockholm ...till next time ... with regret I left ...


Was packed before eating. The ship docked at 10:00. Stowed my backpack in a locker at the train station. Wandered around schischi shopping ... visited the market ...saw the fur hat i wasnt ... sheep or mink or seal .. which one will I chose... selling for around $250 ... hope they are less expensive in St. P.B. ... if not will wait till I come back here in Dec.... went to City Museum ..that was great.

Hostel odd .... in old Helsinki 1952 Olympic Stadium ... its big and there are 8 beds in the room. Its only for one night

Because it is Sunday will have to take a cab to the train station in the morning... trams do not run until 07:30 and my train leaves at 07:00.

St.Petersburg .... here I come. Hope there is snow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb