Stockholm Syndrome


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
October 4th 2007
Published: October 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Stockholm: 4-5 October 2007

Stockholm is a very slick place, everything is efficient and clean - a bit like Germany but without the war-mongering!

Arrived at Arlanda airport at about 9pm and got a train to the city centre. As soon as I left the station, I knew I was going to like the place, strips of bars abounded and very friendly people started chatting to me almost immediately. Speaking of which, the moment I opened the door to my 8-person dorm at the hostel, I was confronted by a crazy German bloke brandishing a bottle of Absolut vodka. He persuaded me that it might be a good idea if I matched him drink for drink (which was actually quite easy as it was the vanilla variety which took the edge of it!). The friendliness of the locals went a bit too far when 1. two homosexuals started harassing me on the street and 2. when a chap in a bar decided to impart his life-story to me over the course of one hour. For those of you who know me well, I don't need to tell you that the eyebrow movements and nods were plentiful during this phase of the evening!

We then went for a curry and a bit of a wander into town. Ended up in the identi-kit Irish bar you find the world over and downed a few more beers. In comparison to Oslo the prices were quite reasonable and I liked the way you ordered by strength and not by brand!

Things were not quite as slick when I returned to the hostel as I could not find the light switch, and bearing in mind I was on the top bunk, this created problems. After head nutting a shelf and sprawling up the ladder I passed out and awoke early the following morning. It was then full-on tourist mode. I went to the old town (a series of islands interconnected with footbridges) which is an absolutely stunning area. During this time I found Stockholm's narrowest street (less that 1 metre wide in parts). Great way of stopping Americans pass through, and also allowed me to wedge myself between the 2 walls and climb up - which I chose to do briefly.

After all this high-jinx I became quite tired as the hangover kicked in, so I went to a steakhouse whereupon I necked a few Phipps (the local beer) and filled up on a chicken and potato combo (could not face beef after the amount of burgers I had consumed over the last couple of days). Then headed back to the hostel to pick up my belongings and onwards to the station to catch my flight to Tallinn.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb