Telling you about Tallinn


Advertisement
Estonia's flag
Europe » Estonia » Tallinn
October 5th 2007
Published: October 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tallinn 5th to 8th October

On arrival at Tallinn airport, I decided it best to get a taxi from the airport as i did not fancy a magical mystery tour of the surroundings. This proved to be wise as my hostel was tucked away in a series of medieval passages that I would never have found in the dark! On this occassion I had opted for a private room in the hostel and this was nice given that I had to be considerate to other people in my previous destinations! I did not waste any time leaving the hostel to sample the nightlife as I had noticed a few interesting looking establishments on the way in. I spent the next 5 or 6 hours doing a pub crawl around the city centre and eventually went for a maxi burger at a local fast food emporium to celebrate my arrival in the city!

The following day I was awoken by the sun beaming into my room and thought it looked like good tourist weather! I got a map from reception, which had 40 top sites featured on it, and challenged myself to tick off all of them! So for the next 8 hours I climbed stairs, traversed moats, crossed squares and generally had a good look around. I was in no doubt after this tour of duty that Tallinn was the most beautiful city I had ever been to; and this back catalogue of hot spots includes Birmingam! It had an amazing medieval ambience, and the illusion was only broken when coming accross occassional SKY Sports signs or noisy tourists! I half expected to see a wooden trolley going through the centre collecting plague victims or something! Later in the day I took a trip to a cafe that was mentioned in the Lonely Planet as having the most surly service in town. It obviously had not changed since the collapse of the USSR and had the decor, service and thankfully prices to back it up! Speaking of prices, I was pleased to see that we were in the eight pence to one pound fifty bracket for a pint of beer!

The following couple of days I passed my time drinking watching both club and country do well in their respective sports and mixing with a group of Finnish people from the hostel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb