Oh, Madrid!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
September 19th 2005
Published: November 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Dancing in the plazaDancing in the plazaDancing in the plaza

My friends, Jay and Karen, dancing to some music being played in the plaza outside of the museo Reina Sofia. Perfect.
I might have a little crush on Madrid, but that's okay because I know I'll be back.

At any rate, I'm still super glad that I´m living in Sevilla because it´s much more manageable. Madrid has much more of a small New York feel, with lots of shopping, restaurants, and theatre, while Sevilla reminds me of the big town, Ann Arbor feel.

We went to the Prado and the museo Reina Sofia, which I appreciated a bit more--Dalí, Picasso and other more modern artists. They were both amazing though. I also went to the third largest disco in the world, which, to say the least, was big. 7 stories, each with a different theme.

My favorite was probably coming accross a patron festival on my way to the hotel. I got to go to a free concert outside, where we tried to become groupies, but failed miserably. There was also a fair, with tons of good food and super fun carnival rides! A couple of my friends and I made met this "music group" who dressed up in traditional garb and played for fun at the carnival. They took us out later that night to show us all
The Royal gardensThe Royal gardensThe Royal gardens

Overlooking the gardens of the Royal Palace in Madrid.
of the local hot spots. Quite fun, indeed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

The fair!The fair!
The fair!

My friends, Vicki and Karen, and I on the "frog ride" at the fair in Madrid. Oh, what fun!


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb