Balynsia


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Valencia
August 3rd 2007
Published: September 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Real DealThe Real DealThe Real Deal

Paella was invented in Valencia, as was Xorchata. So this is the place to get both.
When I first arrived all I saw were giant, gross, 1980's apartment buildings. I began counting the seconds until I would leave. Really, my first impression of Valencia, Spain wasn't that different from my impression of Valencia, California. Both have mostly new construction. Both have a lot of rides.

Then, slowly throughout the week, I began to warm up to it. To begin, the food here is really great. I didn't know what paella was supposed to taste like until I had it here on Tuesday. There are horchata stands on every corner. There's also a beach, if you're into that, but it's just okay.

Once a year they have a Fallas Festival where they make giant, satirical, paper mache floats and then, on the third day, burn them all in a huge bonfire. They vote on a favorite to be saved from the fire and all of the past winners are displayed in a museum close to The City of Arts & Sciences (which is the main thing to see here). The City of Arts & Sciences was built ten years ago and houses a science museum, a botanical garden, and an aquarium. The aquarium and the architecture
Made the newsMade the newsMade the news

Walking back from the beach I was interviewed by a local tv station (yes, in Spanish). I asked them if they were Valencia's answer to Borat, but they swore that they weren't so we'll see..................
of the entire complex are the best parts.

By Wednesday I had met some new people and decided Valencia wasn't so bad. Maybe the bar was set a little high by visiting Barcelona first. I think that this city is still kind of figuring itself out too- as an example, the Turia riverbed is a dry riverbed that was drained and turned into a park. So it's this 7+ mile long park that runs through the city; a green river of sorts that is filled with parks and rides and futbol fields. It's also kind of too much though- there are long stretches of empty green where you're just like, "Really? More grass?". It's just so much space to fill that I think they are still working out the landscaping. Same thing with the architecture. For the most part, it's blah, but then you have something as amazing as The City of Arts & Sciences. There are tons of apartment buildings being torn down and lots of new construction. So maybe in ten more years it will be a whole new city. Anyway, I ended up having a great time and would love to come back for the Fallas
Ughhh.Ughhh.Ughhh.

My initial impression of the architecture here was giant, gross apartment buildings of odd shapes and sizes......like this.
Festival. Anyone wanna go?


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Valencia StyleValencia Style
Valencia Style

Roman ruins and giant apartment buildings.
Tiny Montaditos (Sandwiches) = Tiny CriminalsTiny Montaditos (Sandwiches) = Tiny Criminals
Tiny Montaditos (Sandwiches) = Tiny Criminals

Right after I took this shot, I felt a hand come from behind me with a dirty napkin- the hand tried to cover my mouth but I grabbed the attached arm and threw the person around. It was easy enough because the mugger was 7-9 years old. He and his friend immediately started talking tough (in English) and reciting lines from some movie. I couldn't recognize which one, but it sounded like a script. It was a strange sight and I couldn't help but laugh. They told me to give them my sandwich, but since they didn't have a gun I told them to get lost (I know, tough language). They told me that they knew where I lived so I told them that I knew where they lived. I should also mention that I was surrounded by people and was never in any real danger. They forgot to put the chloroform on the napkin and to pick on someone their own size.
Tetuan RisingTetuan Rising
Tetuan Rising

Throughout the trip I kept running into signs for Tetuan. There was also a Dali painting at the museum called "The Battle of Tetuan". I guess I was a little nervous about Morocco as I didn't know what to expect. I took this as a sign that my trip was blessed and that Morocco and I would get along.
The Holy GrailThe Holy Grail
The Holy Grail

Up close picture of The Holy Grail.
Holy Grail (alleged)Holy Grail (alleged)
Holy Grail (alleged)

A local woman stopped me outside of the chapel and told me that this was the most important sight in all of Spain.
Valencianos Love Pigeons Valencianos Love Pigeons
Valencianos Love Pigeons

I've never seen anything like it, and I'm not sure you can tell from this picture, but these people were playing with pigeons as if they were dogs. As in fetch. The pigeons were pretty big and seemed to love the attention.
Professional SupportProfessional Support
Professional Support

The lady sitting in the window is a world famous tailor of the brassiere persuasion. I read about her in a magazine a few years ago. Valencia is an unusual place.
HorchateriaHorchateria
Horchateria

Xenia, Judith, and myself in front of one of the most famous horchaterias en el mundo.
Turia Futbol FieldTuria Futbol Field
Turia Futbol Field

So, the riverbed goes on for miles and miles (I think there are 7 to be exact).


9th September 2007

My favorite shots in this section are the statues, and Oceanografic, and of course, the paella. :)

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb