Spanish Gems - off the beaten track -half an hour from Alicante.


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Alicante
March 19th 2012
Published: March 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Dear all

I have actually been back home a few days but didn't get a chance to do my blog on the latest trip away- so it's retrospective - but I know everyone likes to see my photos and know what I have been up to- so here it comes.....

Many people fly into Alicante’s new airport and then whizz off to the coastal resorts like nearby Benidorm and Torevieja…. But visiting my lovely cousin, Marilyn, and her husband,Terry, they pick me up and whizz me inland across the mountains to the valley where they live between two villages Frailes and Hondon de las Nieves.

Almonds blossoms were out and vines are cut right back to stumps, orange and lemon trees are laden with fruits and we pass many olive trees some ancient and some newly planted. So that paints a picture of walks we took locally and on a Monday I joined in with their group of hashers, all wearing orange. Thanks to this lovely friendly group making me welcome and offering their hospitality.

It was lovely sunny weather and warm in the sunshine but cool at nights. M+T have been exploring the area since they moved there 2 years ago and always know just the places to take me. And such a place was a small unprepossessing town, Novelda, about 15 mins from where they live.

On the outskirts of the town up high was the most wonderful Sanctuary of Mary Magdalene – a most unusual church and with an organ still being built of marble( I think) with 700 pipes. The interior was simple with most beautiful glass windows and the caretaker put on some music Pachobel Canon – a piece of music Michael and I loved and was played at our wedding – happy memories and very emotional. One thing about Spanish churches is there are no real candles to light – they have a stand of little electric candles and when you put many in the box one of the bulbs lights up – I prefer the real thing. More gems in Novelda – next to the Sanctuary was an ancient ruined Moorish fort and in the town another beautiful traditional church – with amazing domed ceiling.

But the icing on the cake there is hidden down a street in town - the Casa, Museo Modernista. Built at the beginning of 1900 and owned by a bourgeois family this house is an absolute gem of Art Nouveau. “Gob smacked” is hardly the word to describe this place – I could hardly contain myself moving from room to room with oohs and aaahs and exclaiming “look at the lamps, look at the walls, look at the wood work and metal work etc”. So look at the photos and enjoy as I did.

Next part of the journey took us on a drive to the Costa del Sol… coming soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Around Hondon de las Nieves (8)Around Hondon de las Nieves (8)
Around Hondon de las Nieves (8)

M+T get supplies at the Bodega
FortFort
Fort

Door
Novelda Casa (1)Novelda Casa (1)
Novelda Casa (1)

Lamp detail
Novelda Casa (2)Novelda Casa (2)
Novelda Casa (2)

Ceiling detail


19th March 2012

FABULOUS
It's lovely to see and read your blog, as you know we are totally biased and love living here exploring all the hidden gems, it's so nice to see and hear about it through someone else's eyes. We love having you here and showing you around and are on the case for somewhere new to take you next visit. LOL M& T xx
20th March 2012

Beautiful artwork!
Hi Lynne, I loved that artwork on the ceilings and the stairs particularly! So graceful and stylish! Makes my bland stairwell look sad! Fancy having the imagination and skills to design something that looks like that! All's well here in Australia! I'm learning French now, and really enjoying it........lots of lovely students to work with.....and hoping to be able to open my mouth to say a few things when I get to France next year! Hugs, Maureen.
20th March 2012

whisk me away
Many thanks for your lovely blog; it's hot and stuffy in this office that I come in to day in, day out, so a little light relief is very much appreciated. You describe in a way that I could almost be there (I wish). Bring on the Costa del Sol! Love Hils x
22nd March 2012

Spring
Had a lovely walk round the Bluebell Railway - stunning scenery but not quite so stunning as your photos - looks really lovely - specially liked the blue sky!! xxx
23rd March 2012

beautiful springtime
Hi there lynne, another stunning lots of piccies! Particularly love the fort door: does the moon have a special meaning? love hattie xo

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb