Dubai - last week.


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
January 30th 2012
Published: January 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

You know you are still in Dubai when the call to prayer from the local mosque wakes you about 5 am!! It’s hard to believe I am almost all packed and leaving warm and sunny Dubai behind this afternoon..



I have certainly made the most of the time here – out and about visiting our “old” haunts, discovering the new Dubai and seeing friends. I have travelled about on the new Metro system and busses which has been great- if a bit crowded at times- there is a Gold Class Card you can get but I had the Silver one so was in with the crowds although you can go in the “ladies” only carriage but that is also crowded – so it means standing quite a lot of the journeys. On busses again you use the plastic card to check in and out and there is a “ladies” section at the front of the bus.



Just a tip for anyone driving in Dubai – DON’T unless you have to – the roads are very good but the driving is even more mad than it was 6 years ago - most of the petrol stations do not take credit cards so you have to have cash with you – but there are ATMs everywhere.



So I have been out for a wonderful lunch with Claire (big hug and thank you, Claire) at the Meydan Hotel on the site of the Dubai World Cup Horse Racing at Nadd Al Sheba – wow that’s a big change from when we had Xmas day there many years ago. I ask myself am I cut out for hanging around in posh hotel lobbies as I spent a lovely afternoon there – and big surprise it was the cheapest latte I have had in Dubai.



There have been a few trips to the various shopping malls to look at the gorgeous window displays- I think I like Dubai Mall best – it has a massive waterfall with statues of divers, an aquarium and an ice rink – so it’s a bit of a surprise to see kids playing ice hockey!!! And in the evening there are the musical fountain displays – another WOW. I have gazed at the building structures and marvelled at the ingenuity of architects and designers – what a range of styles and materials are used – it’s amazing to think what goes into all of this. There are usually comfy places to sit and rest your feet in amongst some lovely floral decorations. So although I am not much for actually shopping it’s quite an experience to visit these places.



Lesley and I spent a lovely afternoon at the beach….following on from a gorgeous Friday brunch at the organic café. With a flask of tea it was like old times – just lying there listening to the waves empty blue sky above. And now there are barriers preventing idiots from driving their cars along the beach right next to you and some Dubai Mounted Police …so much better controlled than it used to be.



Then there was lunch at the Emirates Golf Club – with its iconic tent architecture – it’s a fab location and good food – well done Alison for choosing to meet there and great to meet up again with Lorraine and Keith – who amazingly could still walk having just done his 14th Marathon. So now I have an invite from them to go and visit their place in Bulgaria…I can see another trip coming up.



The Madinat is another amazing place with its hotel and souk and waterways and fab views of the Burj Al Arab. There was just sand and more sand and a few villas there when we lived here. And of course I had to visit the Dhow and Anchor and have a drink sitting out on the deck as Michael and I used to do.





Next a visit to Dubai Marina – I remember when they were cutting in the canal and they let the water run in from the sea for the first time… and look at it now. I had to have a boat trip which took you out through the Marina past The Palm development out at sea and then back in through the other side of the Marina. Looking back to the Dubai skyline I could see all the changes. I hope that one day all the buildings will be completed and that they say enough is enough – its seems as if they have gone too far too fast but nevertheless it’s all an amazing accomplishment for a country only 40 years old.



Finally a very nice evening at Fiona’s with more old friends in another new development complete with a lake – and another invitation for me to visit Malaysia as Jack and Chandana are moving to Kuala Lumpur. Well I am never short of places to visit. Tamsin gave me a good idea – she has a friend who has done countries for every letter of the alphabet ….if I start reckoning I think I have only a few more to go.



So there it is my Dubai and Oman trip is over… Beeny is quite happy to be going home he is missing Flopsy – she didn’t come this time.



Hope you like the photos – thanks for your comments – it’s always nice to know who is reading the blog. Sorry about the typos in the title for the Turtles – I was panicking that the internet connection would drop out so I didn’t check- I do know how to spell Green.... and I know Tamsin is checking my writing to make sure I get at least a Level 4!! - How am I doing?



Love to all. xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Dubai MarinaDubai Marina
Dubai Marina

Low clouds coming in.
Dubai Marina Boat Trip (19)Dubai Marina Boat Trip (19)
Dubai Marina Boat Trip (19)

Atlantis on The Palm.


31st January 2012

sounds as if you have had a wonderful trip. Safe trip home and looking forward to talking with you on Skype when you get back.
31st January 2012

Beautiful photos again, Lynne
Lovely description & photos, Lynne, almost felt as if I was there with you. Thanks for explaining the surfing 'roo, as I would have forever wondered why! Safe journey home. Pauline (France)
31st January 2012

Great blogs for us future visitors
Great to read up all your news. Sam and I spending a few nights on our way back from summiting Kilimanjaro in July so we appreciate all the insights!
8th February 2012

Superb traveling story.I think you enjoy your stay in Dubai and this clear by your beautiful picture.
13th April 2012

Love to "read" your book still . Wow you trully are a inspiration to me & others to get out & About once retired & I do hope that I will.(start saving now I think) We offer talk about you & how you came to stay with us & we wish Could have had you stay longer . I love your travels & so happy you came into our lives even so if It was short I feel like you are a relative & we all care for you. Leanne doing well last year of primary school but she also chats about what you up to . Take care stay safe stay writing think you Should write a book with all your bloggs in . Love you xx

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb