Pamplona-San Sebastian


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Navarre » Pamplona
July 17th 2009
Published: July 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well it has been a while since my last update and I will try not to make this too long. When I last wrote Richard and I were planning on heading to the bull arena in Pamplona to try and get tickets for the bullfight. We headed there and found scalpers everywhere...seemed as though everyone we talked to was selling tickets. The prices started high (70-50 euro) as it was a couple hours before the matches started. Wisely Richard forced us to wait it out until a few minutes before the fights started because we knew scalpers would get desperate. We ended up buying tickets for 30 euros, this was a pretty good price when compared with what the people around us had paid (most paid 40-50). Our seats were in the shade which was awsome. As soon as we stepped foot inside the arena we were completely blown away. It was packed out with roudy fans chanting and swaying drinking wine and clearly filled wth excitement and anticipation. I would equate it to a gladiator arena and what that expereince might have been like. We sat next to an older local Spaniard who treated Rich and I like kings! He gave us both glasses and filled them with beer, as soon as we were half finished he would fill it to the top. He bought us sandwiches and shared all of the snacks that he had brought to the fights.....it was awsome! Then the bullfights started and I can say that this was probably the coolest experience that I have ever had. The bulls are absolutely massive and incredibly powerful. Each bull runs out and is tired out by a group of preliminary matadores who eventually stab 4 knives in its back. The main matadore then comes out and dances around the bull bringing it right up against his hip getting extremlely close to the bull who is still full of power at this point. The matadore turns his back to the bull a couple feet away and plays to the crowd who cheers like crazy. The matadore then finishes the bull off with a final sword, he charges at the bull and stabs him between the shoulder blades....the bull then shortly dies there after and is dragged from the ring by a group of horses. I could go on and on about the fights...there were some amazing things that happened (A matadore got hit by a bull and was bleeding, a horse was hit by the bull and was knocked over) It was an amazing sight to see and an incredible atmosphere. At the end of the fights the arena turned into a big booze fight....wine and booze being dumped everywhere. I had a group of Aussies that I battled with and ended up with a bucket of Sangria dumped over my head...i left completley soaked! Tons of fun and this would have been fine if I had extra clothes, a shower, or anything. I cleaned myself up in the bus station washroom and was able to wear just my sweater for the evening so it worked out to be ok. After partying in the city until 3 or 4am we headed to the park where we would sleep that night. We found a spot next to the bus station and got a few hours of sleep. I woke up with no blanket on me, fetal position, freezing! I guess someone peeled the blanket off during the night? I managed to make my way into the bus station where I got a couple more hours of warm sleep.

After spending the day in Pamplona we decided to head to San Sebastian in an attempt to find some shelter. San Sebastian is gorgeous. Our first night we stayed in a private 2 bedroom room with a TV and desk filled with DVDS...it was luxury! We bought some wine and spent the evening watching the back to the future trilogy. It was a great, and a much needed relaxed evening where we were able to catch up on some much needed sleep. We spent the next 4 days in San Sebastian sleeping in, heading to the beach all day, coming home and making dinner, drinking wine with our Aussie friends in the hostel, then heading into the old town to walk around. Every day in Sebastian looked a lot like this, and it was fantastic. After 4 nights in San Sebastian I headed on a night train to Lagos...while Rich stayed for another night in preperation for heading to Barcelona where he will end his trip on the 18th. I will write about Lagos in the next couple days....I dont want to flood you with too much writing all at once. Lagos has been amazing as well, gorgeous beaches, incredible night life. I met up with Teegan and her friend Brittany and hung out with them for a few days which wa awsome! I am looking forward to getting home...Im having a blast still but Im starting to feel a wee bit home sick. 13 more days!

Hope all is well back home! Love and miss you guys.

Kevin

Advertisement



17th July 2009

I miss you bromeo...ive met some awesome people at some shady hostels...you know how the saying goes....dont judge a book by its cover. its not the look of a hostel, its the people who fill the inside of the walls
17th July 2009

Hi there sweetheart!!
Great to hear from you, sorry we missed your call yesterday, I was playing golf with Dad and Norm Neiken at Newlands in Langley. Good time had by all. We had a great trip to Lake Chelan for a couple days, two incredible golf courses! We have to take Dad's car in to Richmond this morning so I don't have much time.....Just wanted to say hi, hopefully we'll be home if you call again today.... Plans are well underway for Prince George, and I just talked to Lisa about us all going to Othello Aug.29th for Uncle Bob's 50th birthday....so a few things for you to look forward to when you get home. I know you are missing everyone and running out of a bit of stream...but remember once you're home it will seem as if you've never been away. We sure love you and are missing you!!! Lots and lots of love, Mom

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb