Lagos and Seville


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Algarve » Lagos
July 21st 2009
Published: July 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Good old Lagos....what a crazy and wonderful place! I arrived in Lagos after an intense over night 13 hour train ride from San Sebastian. I was on a bench on the train with 6 other men for 13 hours! Luckily I was able to crawl under the bench and lay on the floor beneath them for the majority of the trip and was even able to grab a few hours of sleep! After a train transfer in Lisbon and another in Tunes I finally made it to Lagos...thank god! Lagos is such a cool town. Narrow streets packed with little shops and bars, open air restaurents everywhere in all the little plazas, always bustling with life and cool things going on. My hostel was called "Gold Coast" and it was for sure one of the nicer hostels I have ever stayed in. There was a huge kitchen, a massive terrace on the roof of the building with a bbq and tables, and there was a flat screen on the bottom floor with bean bag chairs and about 100 DVDs! The staff was fantastic and I met a ton of really cool people the first night there. Everyone from the hostel drank wine on the terrace until about 12 or so and then headed down the road to "Whytes Bar". This bar is famous for its International beer bong tally that hangs up on the wall of the bar.... I was determined to put Canada back on the map by the end of the trip. I chalked up a few tallies for Canada securing our lead over the United States...manditory! Our whole group took turns putting up a tally for their respective countries....I made good friends with Marco from Finland and a large group of guys from London....it was a really fun night. The next morning I got up and hiked along the coast towards the lighthouse. The beaches along the coast are beyond description....just incredible. They are exactly how I pictured the azore to be and I was not dissapointed in the least. Near the end of the hike I found a small beach that was surrounded on both sides by cliffs jutting out into the ocean, just off shore there were huge pillars and arcs, it was amazing. The only way to get to the beach was to climb down a steep rock face using ropes that dangled off peices of rebar, it was fairly intense but I made it to the bottom and had the whole beach to MYSELF! I spent the afternoon there swimming and laying in the sun, it was perfect. That evening I headed back to the hostel and later met up with Teegan and her friend Brittany who had just arrived in Lagos!!! We went out for a nice dinner on the town and had a great time catching up. After dinner we bought some wine and headed back to the coast to watch the sun set on a beach. We found an amazing beach with no one on it and drank wine and chatted untill around 12 or so....great times! We then headed back into town where I took the girls to Whytes bar once again in order to chalk up some more tallies for Canada. I put up a few more and Teegan contributed like a champ as well! The next day I took the girls to the private beach I had found where we relaxed and baked in the sun. That night we painted the town once again....Whytes bar for some beers bongs and then Joeys until around 4 or so...another very fun evening!! We beached again the next day and that evening the girls made me dinner at their studio appartment (very swanky) a wonderful pasta and sausage dish! I was feeling a wee bit warn out that night and the girls had to be up at 5am so we called it an early one and just took it easy. It was awsome to see the girls, we had a fantastic time in Lagos!

From Lagos I headed to Seville where I stayed for 2 days. When I was driving in to Seville it was about 530pm...I looked at the temperature on a building and it read "45 degrees" yikes....it was a loooong 30 minute walk with my back pack to my hostel. The city is really quite cool. My hostel was right beside the Cathedral which is the largest gothic cathedral in the world, and 3rd largest Christian (after St.Paul´s and St. Peter´s) The hostel was fantastic. In the bunks across from me were a brother and sister from Vancouver! Had some really good times chatting with them. I also met a great guy from Brazil who is heading to Bordeaux in a few days to stay with a friend....so im going to try and weasel my way in on that! There is a massive terrace on our roof with a bar and tapas, the bar overlooks the main drag....very very cool. On my second night there we watched a Flamenco show on our hostel roof for about 2 hours. It was unreal. Candles lit up the stage...there was an amazing singer and the dancer was just incredible...it was an awsome experience. A large group of us wandered the city after the show and had a really fun evening. I walked through the city checking out the main sights (the park, the gardens, bull ring etc) It was a nice place but it got up to 48 degrees in the heat of the day so I only had about 3 or 4 hours in me. I had a really nice time in Seville and considered staying longer but decided to head North! I took a train to Madrid yesterday and arrived around 3pm. CRAZY city Madrid is....wow. I have 2 minutes left on my time so i have to run. Hope all is well back home and I will write again soon!

Miss you guys,

Love Kevin !

Advertisement



21st July 2009

Great to hear from you!!
HI darling, we just starting to think we should be hearing from you!!Sounds as all is well and new adventures every day!! The beach in Lagos sounds idylic, reminds me on the one we went to!!! Dad and I are heading to Whistler this morning for a few days, play golf at Pemberton and spend some time at the lake. So I just wanted to say hi, I'd better get my stuff in the car before your Dad starts panicking!!! Love you so much and so glad to hear from you, I keep looking at the calendar and the days are slipping away....we can hardly wait to see you!! xooxoMOM
21st July 2009

Tallies for all my friends!
Haha, lovin the updates man! It was nice to hear your voice to! I am super glad you were able to meet up with T and that you guys had a great time! Also, way to represent Canada on the wall of tallies! Brand, Des and I may or may not have a few chalked up as well when we passed through. Too bad you didn't make it to Casa Rosa, probably the best food in Lagos. Good to hear your still representing hard, and having a blast. Keep it up my man, and we'll see you soon! -J

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb