Fuentes, Fuentes and More F"$!"·%/&/ Fuentes!!!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Navarre » Estella
June 20th 2012
Published: June 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Actually I´m in Los Arcos, but it´s not in the list so Estella is close enough (21 Kms away).

I´ve spent the last couple of days in a bit of a catch up phase with walking. Yesterday I did 29.5 Kms from Cizur Menor to Ciraqui and today 35-ish to Los Arcos. The scenery now actually looks more like Spain, if you were to imagine it - big blue skies and wide expanses of brown (although they are actually wheat crops so it´s a bit deceptive).

It poured with rain yesterday morning which provided the first experience with rain. I don´t want any more please. Today was warm and I had to walk in the afternoon for the first time - not liking that much either at the moment...

There were only six people in the hostel at Ciraqui last night. One guy was an Italian who spoke no English (or any other language). He did however speak incessantly to himself in a soft voice. We were the only two in our room and I´m glad to report that I´m still alive... Further, he actually waited while I got ready this morning so that we could walk together. We had to rely on my Italian to communicate - great conversation assured every time...

Today I passed the famous Fuente del Vino, where the local winemakers provide a fountain of wine (hence the not very imaginative name) for the pilgrims. Some of the younger lads had planned their entire day (and possibly their entire trip) around this event. At 10 in the morning it wasn´t really appealing.

Given the naming convention mentioned in the previous paragraph, I approached the Fuente de Moros with a deal of trepidation - would an Arab emerge when I turned the spiggot? Unfortunately, (or fortunately) the Moorish reference was to the surrounding architecture not the contents of the fountain. The water was not for drinking but it was cold on hot feet in the middle of the day.

Finally arrived here at 3.00 and was in no way surprised to see that the hostel tonight is named... you guessed it... La Fuente

Advertisement



21st June 2012

David you make me laugh.
I am soo envious
21st June 2012

What Great Memories
Fantastic stuff David, what great memories you are going to have from this when you have finished! You are doing some long distances, what is the total distance you hope to cover?
22nd June 2012

Hi Bernie Trying to do the whole way to Santiago (800 odd Kms). Will see when I´m there if I can face the extra 90 odd to Fisterre and the sea. I´m about to do a blog about distance so I´ll leave the last bit of your question for now Cheers David

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb