Merida


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Extremadura » Mérida
June 7th 2013
Published: June 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post


Amphitheatre
I woke up this morning ready to see Merida. I was really looking forward to seeing Merida because it is filled with Roman ruins. Merida used to be the capitol of the Roman region that is currently Spain. Not only does Merida have a lot of Roman sights, but a lot of it is still in great shape. I wasn’t quite sure what kind of ruins were here, but I found a map and went off on my way. The map ended being a tad off, so I followed the signs that led to the Roman theatre and amphitheater. I looked at the information for buying tickets and saw that I could get in to several things for the student ticket of 6 dollars. I started off going into the theatre and amphitheater. Since I never got to go in to the coliseum in Rome, I was really excited about going in to the amphitheater. It was in great condition, and let you roam just about anywhere. I walked down to the floor where the gladiators fought, and tried to imagine what it must have been like. All though the gladiators were slaves, they earned about 1000 a fight, and after so many years, they earned their freedom. After I pretended to be a gladiator, I decided to pretend to be a spectator. Of course, I was a wealthy spectator, because I sat in the area closest to the floor. The poor spectators would have to sit at the very top, which don’t really exist anymore. After I soaked up the sun and the experience, I headed over to the theatre. Again, it was in really great shape and they still use it for performances. I explored it from every angle, imagining I was watching a Roman show. The stage area was beautiful, but I am still wondering what they used it for. There wasn’t much space for people to act, so I thought that it was more of a background. Behind the theatre, was a huge garden area. Statues of the Empire used to stand there over 2000 years ago. When I was done gaining inspiration for my future novels, I looked at my ticket to see what was left. The Circo Romano was the next thing, so I started walking that way. After the help of a lady, I found it and looked around. Back in the first century, they used to do chariot races at the Circo Romano. It was interesting to imagine, but unfortunately not much to see. Most of the outer seating was just a bunch of rocks, with an inside of grass. The next things on my ticket were Casa del Mitreo and Columbarios. I went the wrong way because the map was wrong, but I eventually found it. The columbarios part was basically a garden, so I’m glad it was included and I didn’t pay separately to see it. The Casa del Mitreo was an area that had been excavated. They found the original tile flooring, walls, and rooms of a house. The tile floor made a mural, along with the wall. It was amazing to see what inside of 1st century Roman house looked like. I continued on to the next thing on the list: Alcazaba. The Roman Bridge that leads from one side of the river to the other, leads straight up to the Alcazaba. It was a huge walled area that led in to the city. The Romans were able to control everything that came in to the city, as well as, defend themselves from the Alcazaba. Around the 8th century,

Theatre
the Muslims took control over the Alcazaba, and turned it into a military fort. They destroyed pretty much most of the Roman things inside. They did leave a part that went underground into a cave like area. They drained water from the river through rocks and into this big cistern, in order to collect and save water. It looked like it was straight from a medieval story; I expected an attacking army to sneak in and pop out of the water. When I was done with the Alcazaba, I headed up towards one of the last places, the Moreria. It ended up being a spot that was excavated. Parts of streets, houses, and other hard to depict Roman things remain there. More of it seemed to be hidden under the city, making me wonder how much history is sitting under our noses. It was a quick walk through, but there was a ton of things there. Most of it was blocked off and already built over. It was starting to rain, so I started to head back to my hostel. I stopped by the grocery store to get some things for dinner and lunch tomorrow. I am really glad that I made the choice to stay an extra night in Lisbon and only two nights in Merida. I ended up deciding to do that when I got to Lisbon, and tried to change my reservation dates for my hostel in Merida. They wouldn’t let me change my dates, so I had to cancel, then book it again with a better price. This all happened two days before I was supposed to be in Merida. It was nerve-wracking, but I am really glad I did it. I got to spend more time in my new favorite city while getting enough time in Merida to explore everything and not be super bored. Tomorrow I will leave to go to Cordoba. After Cordoba, I will go to Granada, then on to my family’s house. Where did the time go? I say that, but I feel like I have been here for about 6 months. I’m not to the point where I am dying to go home, though. I am really enjoying myself, and looking forward to the next adventures! Which is a good thing because I am not even half way done yet. Well, I must get ready for my travels for tomorrow!

Roman Bridge
See you in Cordoba!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



8th June 2013

OH, MY STARS!!!
SO, WITH EXCITEMENT, I READ AND READ AGAIN THIS ENTRY! EVERY DETAIL IS SPELL BINDING, AND THE PICTURES BREATH TAKING. YOUR TRIP SHOULD BE BEYOND DESCRIPTION!!! BUT, PRETTY GIRL, YOU'VE CAPTURED IT ALL. IF YOU NEVER TAKE A ANOTHER TRIP IN YOUR LIFETIME YOU'VE LIVED TO THE HEIGHTS MORE THAN MOST EVER ACCOMPLISH. AND I FEEL THAT I'VE BEEN FOLLOWING IN YOUR SHADOW... I'M THRILLED FOR YOU. GOD, BLESS THE PRETTY GIRL AND HOLD HER CLOSE.....
8th June 2013

WHAT A MAGIC PLACE
To see Roman ruins in good condition...fantastic. Great pics...keep them coming.
11th June 2013

More deatils about Merida
Merida also called "The White City". Merida is a cultural center, featuring restaurants, movie theatres, multiple museums, shops and art galleries. I visited this place last month and enjoy beautiful spots with delicious food.

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb