Wait, I live here?


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
September 11th 2012
Published: September 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After a week in Madrid, it's finally hit me that this is my home. I have an ulimited metro pass, I actually know how to use the metro, I can walk more than just to school without getting lost, I know where to find the best drink deals, the best tapas, and the best shopping. I have to admit I'm surprised I've learned so much about this city so fast. It's probably because I thought this was too good to be true and I was going to be sent home after a week so I crammed all the exploring I could possibly do into one week's time.

I wish everyone could come visit because I'd love to be a tour guide! There's so much to see here it's amazing. Even the area I live in, I notice something new almost everyday- whether its a cute store or a tapas bar with a different special of the day, there is always something new to discover which I love. I love Syracuse, but the city of Madrid is a unique campus to explore.



What I really love though is how much I've already improved my Spanish. My Spanish teacher makes us read outloud everyday in class and she corrects our pronouciation which is extremely helpful. Now I catch myself reading signs outloud and practicing announciating my R's, G's, and J's. Some words that I use frequently I have down already, but when I really pay attention to what I'm saying I notice a huge difference. I just have to make it so I don't have to think about it as much. It's only week one though right?

One of the best parts about living here though is living with Maria. She talks so fast with a very thick accent and even though I cannot respond in the same rapid pace, I enjoy listening to her talk and seeing if I can keep up with her. At our dinners she will talk the whole time and I really focus on trying to fully understand her. I've noticed a difference in my abililty to do that as well. The first day I did not understand a SINGLE thing she said I just nodded my head, but now I can appreciate her humor and her stories about all the traveling she has done.

The best part about Maria though is her cooking. Everything she cooks is healthy. Tons and tons of vegetables and seafood. I've even tried some food I've never tried before. Who would have known that I actually LOVE beets? And plums! Everything she makes is delicious and we always have seconds. I try to write down what we had so I can make it for everyone back home. A lot of the things are simple so hopefully I'll be able to replicate them!



As I was writing this post I just booked another trip! Gamma Phi Beta is taking over Paris October 18-22 (5 days!)! The flight was only 32 euros for a round trip! I'm gettin good at this traveling on a budget thing (even if it took me a while)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.433s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb