Feliz Cumpleanos


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
January 15th 2006
Published: January 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Walking to El RastroWalking to El RastroWalking to El Rastro

El Rastro is right next to Old Madrid.
Today was Paloma's 20th birthday. She is our Spanish sister, Maria's daughter. It was so cool that we celebrated with them. I really feel like I'm a part of the family. I went out to El Rastro this morning to buy a gift for her from Lindsay and I. I found this awesome pair of sunglasses, and Lindsay bought some flowers. Lindsay wanted to show them some real Italian cooking, so she cooked Eggplant Parm. It was delicious. I can't believe that today marks one week of being on Spanish soil. It’s been great! Tomorrow starts school. Classes won't be as hard as New York, and I'm only taking three instead of at least four. I went out with some friends for dinner at VIPS again. I had the same amazing oriental salad. I hope to go to the gym tomorrow morning, but the weather has been horrible. It’s been raining for the past few hours and there might be snow tomorrow! We'll see. I also have to start conserving money! Either I'll sit at the bar for tapas (prices change in Spanish restaurants depending on where you are seated) or go to a convenience store and get something cheap. But
El RastroEl RastroEl Rastro

Imagine swarms of people,like Times Square, but no one is in a rush. Everyone is smiling, taking their time on a beautiful Sunday morning.
trying to eat well and exercise is not only had in Europe but uncommon. As requested, here are some photos of where I live. Enjoy. Feedback is good. If you are interested in something or want to see something just leave a comment!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

No worriesNo worries
No worries

The frenzy isn't that bad through out the entire market! You'll find some peaceful space around the streets.
My SteetMy Steet
My Steet

Mi Calle
My buildingMy building
My building

Hey. Sorry I blacked out the street name. This is a public site and don't want anyone to find me in my Spanish bubble!
My new homeMy new home
My new home

I got a desk, a bed, a closet, and a computer. Less is more. Living a simpler life is rewarding.
My Bathroom!!!My Bathroom!!!
My Bathroom!!!

Here's a shot of where I get most of my thinking done.
Clothes are flyingClothes are flying
Clothes are flying

Yes. Those are my shirts in the courtyard hanging from the clothes line. We don't have a dryer, most Spainards don't!


15th January 2006

Photo`s
The pictures are great and Spain looks outstanding. I think your room could be kept a little neater. Happy that you are enjoying the host family. Would really like to see some photo`s of them and you. If you need a little extra money, let me know and tell me how I can get it to you, I can afford it, the market has been very rewarding lately.

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb