Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
May 12th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Madrid



Madrid
Julie J Vanover
I did Madrid in several visits, I knew that I would need to pass through here to get to Lisbon and Paris so I would visit the city in the middle of these trips. I had heard that Madrid was a little bit harder of a city to fall in love with than other Spanish cities. I got there and took the Metro to the Puerto de la Sol and understood why. I walked around the Plaza and asked myself ´Why was I supposed to see this?´ It doesn´t have the charm of Barcelona, but after I walked around a while I liked it better. I walked to the Prado Museum and I loved it. It is my favorite musuem so far. My favorite paintings were 'The Garden of Earthly Delights´by Bosch which I stared at for a long time- counting owls, and 'Las Meninas´by Velasquez which I had seen before in books but it was so large in real life and so interesting when looking at the perspective of the painting. I couldn´t take pictures or I would include some. I headed out of Madrid on a night train to Lisbon and stopped back through for a night train
Neptune FountainNeptune FountainNeptune Fountain

I am beginning to suspect that every city in Europe has a Neptune Fountain...
to Paris. On my second visit I saw the Royal Palace and many cool buildings along the way. I had heard that Madrid didn´t have the same charm that other cities had and that it took a little longer to enjoy. So I wasn´t really shocked when there were no ohhhs and ahhs coming out of my mouth as there had been in other cities. In my 3 stop throughs of Madrid I saw all I wanted to see and never spent the night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



19th May 2007

When I close my eyes I dream of you and when there open I wish you were here.I Miss You!
Hum! not to much to comment on but I am glad the The prado museum was enjable for you to go through. I think the royal palace looks pretty cool but it looks like there should be alot more people in the courtyard. I love you Baby!
19th May 2007

Interesting painting
I looked up "The Garden of Earthly Delights" on the internet. That is an interesting, very busy painting. I think that you could look at it for days and never take the entire thing in. Glad you're enjoying yourself.

Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb